Staff news

Chancellor's winners named

This year’s Chancellor’s Awards winners have been announced at a gala dinner at Holyrood Palace.

HRH Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh and Dr Euan Brechin

Presented by the University’s Chancellor, HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, these annual awards recognise and reward excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

Three awards

The awards are presented in three categories, Teaching, Research and Rising Star, an honour given to a young academic who has demonstrated great potential.

This year’s winners are:

  • Professor O James Garden, Clinical and Surgical Sciences (Teaching)
  • Professor Peter Sandercock, School of Molecular and Clinical Medicine (Research)
  • Dr Euan Brechin, School of Chemistry (Rising Star)

E-learning innovator

Professor Garden received the Teaching Award to credit his contributions to the University’s postgraduate taught e-learning portfolio.

He has played a significant role in devising the Edinburgh Surgical Sciences Qualification and is widely praised for his record as an innovator in the teaching of the undergraduate medical curriculum.

Stroke research leader

Professor Sandercock was recognised for his involvement in acute stroke care at the University.

He was the inaugural head of the University’s Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences, and now heads Edinburgh Neuroscience.

His career grant funding totals more than £36 million.

New generation

The recipient of this year’s Rising Star Award, Dr Brechin, is considered the leading UK scientist under the age of 40 in molecular magnetism.

As well as his scientific contributions, he has also been heavily involved in outreach programmes including SCI-FUN and the Nuffield School Bursary Scheme.