Centre for Open Learning


A list of key contacts from the teams within the Centre for Open Learning.

Key Contacts
Position Name Phone Email
General Enquiries Reception 50 4400 COL@ed.ac.uk
Chair in Continuing Education and Head of the Centre for Open Learning David Finkelstein 51 1177 D.Finkelstein@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Nicola Davidson 50 4275 Nicola.Davidson@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director of Professional Services Alison Ballantyne 50 6185 Alison.Ballantyne@ed.ac.uk
Finance and HR Officer Karen Willox 51 4826 Karen.Willox@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Team (for students with disabilities/additional study and support needs) Student Support Team 50 4400 Studentsupport.COL@ed.ac.uk
Technical Support Officer Mark Galloway 51 4825 Mark.Galloway@ed.ac.uk
Holyrood Campus Facilities Manager

Simon Christie

51 6014
English Language Education
Position Name Phone Email
Head of the English Language Teaching Centre and Languages For All Michael Jenkins 50 9421 Michael.Jenkins@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Head of the English Language Teaching Centre Anne Heller Murphy 50 9422 Anne.Heller@ed.ac.uk
Head of English for Academic Purposes Anton Elloway 51 4827 Anton.Elloway@ed.ac.uk
Head of English for Specific Purposes Jill Northcott 50 9423 Jill.Northcott@ed.ac.uk
Head of Teacher Education Lindsay Knox 50 4374 Lindsay.Knox@ed.ac.uk
Senior Teaching Fellow (Summer Pre-sessional Programme Co-ordinator) Kenneth Anderson 50 9424 Kenneth.Anderson@ed.ac.uk
Senior Teaching Fellow (English for Academic Purposes) Cathy Benson 50 9424 Cathy.Benson@ed.ac.uk

Senior Teaching Fellow (English language testing)

Hamish McIlwraith 51 4833


Teaching Fellow (Coordinator of Academic English Year Round) Tom Pritchard 51 1189 Tom.Pritchard@ed.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow (Coordinator for In-sessional Support courses) Mike Garbutt 50 9419 Mike.Garbutt@ed.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow (Coordinator for Undergraduate Credit EAP Programmes) Kathryn Redpath 50 9429 Kathryn.Redpath@ed.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor of Student Learning (English for Academic Purposes) Tony Lynch   A.J.Lynch@ed.ac.uk
Short Courses
Position Name Phone Email
Head of Short Courses Jenny Hoy 51 3200 Jenny.Hoy@ed.ac.uk
Head of Languages Michael Jenkins 50 9421 Michael.Jenkins@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Head of Short Courses Caroline Bamford 50 4322 C.Bamford@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser (Art & Design) Robbie Bushe 50 3076 R.Bushe@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser Martine Pierquin 51 1182 M.Pierquin@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser Sally Crumplin 51 4841 Sally.Crumplin@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser Rachael King 50 9426 Rachael.King@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser James Mooney 50 3077 J.Mooney@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser (Languages for All) Giulia Dawson 50 2902 Giulia.Dawson@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser (Languages for All) Daniela McCafferty 50 3744 Daniela.McCafferty@ed.ac.uk
Course Organiser (Languages for All) Jeannette Rissmann 51 1820


HSS International Foundation Programme Co-ordinator Anthea Coleman-Chan 51 1589 Anthea.Coleman-Chan@ed.ac.uk