School of Health in Social Science

School governance

Information about the various roles across the School and their responsibility.

The Head of School is formally responsible to the Head of College, who is responsible to the Principal who is responsible to the University Court, for the academic leadership and management of the School. The Head of School is supported in the leadership and management of the School by a variety of role-holders and committees to whom responsibilities are devolved.

School Roles


Role Holder School Committees
Head of School Matthias Schwannauer School Management, Promotions
Head of Clinical Psychology

Dr. Jessica Hafetz Mirman

School Management
Head of Nursing Studies Rosie Stenhouse School Management
Head of Counselling and Psychotherapy Mandy Laing School Management
Director of Learning and Teaching

Jennifer Tocher

School Management, Board of Studies, School Education
Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange Angus Macbeth

School Management, Research & Knowledge Exchange, Research Ethics

Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Amy Chandler

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Deputy Director of Research (Knowledge, Exchange & Impact)

Joanne Williams

Research & Knowledge Exchange

Deputy Director of Research (Research Ethics and Research Integrity)

Maria Gardani

Research & Knowledge Exchange, Research Ethics

Deputy Director of Research (Postgraduate Research)

Karen Goodall

Research & Knowledge Exchange, School Education

Director of Quality Assurance & Enhancement

Elaine Haycock-Stuart School Education
Promotions Committee Representative

Jonathan Wyatt


School Academic Misconduct Officer (SAMO)

Sue Turnbull

School Education
Library Coordinator

Alette Willis

School Education
Coordinator of Adjustments Joanna Alexjuk School Education
Senior Tutor

Melina Kyranides

School Education