Support for Technicians

Technician Steering Committee

The Technician Steering Committee aims to disseminate information on opportunities available to technicians, to provide a means to recognise the achievements of technical staff, and to create a visible, connected, community for this population within the University of Edinburgh.

Our 1000 technicians are highly trained and experienced individuals with diverse skills working across all subject areas. Technical staff play an important role in research, teaching and supporting our students.

The group is leading on the development and implementation of the Technician Commitment action plan. 

Members of Technician Steering Committee are:

Current Members


Andrew Arnott


AIEMA, Department of Social Responsbility and Sustainability, Founder and Former Chair of TSC


Dr Natalie Homer


PhD, Core Manager, Mass Spectrometry, Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility, Chair of TSC


Alastair Craig


Technical Service Manager, Edinburgh College of Art


Nicola Cuthbert


Research Development Manager, Institute for Academic Development (IAD)


Keith Erskine


RSciTech, Teaching Technician, Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Science


Joanna Fairweather


PGDip Career Guidance, CIPD Award. Learning and Organisation Development Partner, Human Resources

Val Gordon

RSci, Technicial Officer, Moray House School of Education, Project Coordinator for Technician Commitment & HEaTED

Network Coordinator


Dr David Hills


PhD, Technical Service Manager, School of Biological Sciences


Dr Jon Kelly


PhD, Technical Service Manager, SPEHS, Moray House School of Education


Sarah McCafferty


RSci, Research Technician, Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility


Mark Patrizio


Senior Technical Officer (Research), CDBS, Biomedical Sciences, Convenor JULC & Chair, Unite the Union


Lee Murphy


CSci MIScT, Genetics Manager, Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility


Shonna Johnston


Flow Cytometry Facility Manager, QMRI


Caroline Delahoyde


Technical Support Officer Wet Chemistry Labs, School of Engineering


Carolynn Cairns


Senior Research Technician, HART, Centre for Cardiovascular Science, QMRI

Former Members

We are grateful to our former members for their valuable contributions.


Dr Sara Shinton        


PhD, Head of Researcher Development, Institute for Academic Development (IAD)
























Fiona Alderson


BEM, Technical Service Manager, School of Engineering


Marianne Keith


RSciTech, Research Technician, The Roslin Institute



Get in touch with us at