The Jeanne Marchig International Centre for Animal Welfare Education


Individual awards and The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies awarded Veterinary School of the year at the WVA Animal Welfare Awards 2020.

Jan 2021, New Year Honours for Dr Heather Bacon

Heather Bacon, who has been with JMICAWE from the very beginning in 2011, has been given an OBE (Officer of the order of the British Empire) in the Queen’s New Year Honours list, in recognition of her work in veterinary education, animal welfare and charity work in the UK and abroad.  This is one of the highest honours that can be bestowed on a UK citizen, and is a wonderful and very well deserved recognition of the enormous amount of work that Heather has done, and continues to do, in the service of animal welfare. 

Read the full article on our blog.

Ceva Group Communications Director Martin Mitchell presents the award to Professor David Argyle and Professor Cathy Dwyer.


The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies and JMICAWE are delighted to announce that we are the very first recipients of the World Veterinary Association and CEVA veterinary school of the year in the global animal welfare awards for 2020. The WVA and CEVA give annual awards for those in the veterinary profession who have gone above and beyond in animal welfare, and JMICAWE’s very own Heather Bacon and Hayley Walters have been former winners of individual awards. For the first time in 2019 WVA and CEVA also decided to give an award to the veterinary school or college that was working to promote animal welfare, and we won!

The award is wonderful recognition of the hard work, dedication and commitment of all those in JMICAWE, the wider JMICAWE ‘family’, including our colleagues at SRUC who conduct research in animal welfare, and many, many people in the R(D)SVS who contribute to embedding animal welfare into the veterinary curriculum to give our students the best possible grounding in animal welfare science, ethics and practice. In addition, the award recognises the significant outreach work that JMICAWE and others do to reach out to other veterinary schools globally, and help to promote animal welfare education for all veterinary students.

Edinburgh has a long history of involvement in animal welfare research and teaching. The R(D)SVS was instrumental in setting up the Society for Veterinary Ethology in  1966, which has grown and expanded over the last 50+ years to become the International Society for Applied Ethology, the pre-eminent scientific society for the study of animal welfare science. Edinburgh was also home to the first MSc programme in the world to offer postgraduate education in applied animal behaviour and animal welfare in 1990. The MSc is celebrating its 30th anniversary this month, and now has a network of alumni working to improve animal welfare all over the world.


  • Jan 2018 - Hayley Walters - New Years Honours List - MBE

  • Nov 2017 - Jess Martin - Young Poultry Person of the Year (awarded at Egg & Poultry Industry Conference)

  • Nov 2016 - Heather Bacon - Recognised as Inspirational women of STEM (EquateScotland)

  • Oct 2016 - Heather Bacon - BVA's Trevor Blackburn Award

  • April 2016 - Heather Bacon - Chris Laurence Vet of the Year (CEVA)

  • April 2015 - Hayley Walters - CEVA Veterinary Nurse of the Year

Related Links

WVA winners video

Postgraduate programmes