Tobacco Control Capacity Programme

Our Governance

Management and governance structure for the Tobacco Control Capacity Programme

The Tobacco Control Capacity Programme is led by the Principal Investigator Professor Linda Bauld. The PI is supported in the day to day delivery of the programme by a Research Project Manager and the Strategic Management Group.

An outline of key elements of the management and governance structure for the programme is shown below:

Over Governance Diagram

Strategic Management Group

The Strategic Management Group (SMG) serves as the Executive Group for the award. It is responsible for programme planning, developing policies for the grant and taking key decisions. It is comprised of all co-investigators within the award.

Core Coordination Group

The Core Coordination Group (CCG) will be established to provide frequent advice and support to the programme PI and Research Project Manager. The CCG has been established as a smaller group than the Strategic Management Group to provide more frequent input into the direction of the programme. The CCG will hold some decision-making authority but will escalate critical issues to the full Strategic Management Group to take a decision on. This group is brought together on an ad-hoc basis at the discretion of the Principal Investigator.

International Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board (IAB) provides independent oversight of the programme. The IAB advises on the strategy and progress of the programme. The role of the IAB is as an advisory body to support and where possible strengthen the work of the programme. The group will meet twice in the first year and annually thereafter.  

The membership of the International Advisory Board is as follows:  

Name Institution
Francis Thompson Former Executive Director, Framework Convention Alliance
Deborah Arnott Chief Executive Officer, Action on Smoking and Health

Professor Matthew Baylis

Chair of Veterinary Epidemiology and PI on of the £8.8 m GCRF Grow award project ‘One Health Regional Network in the Horn of Africa (HORN)’, Institute of Infection and Global Health, University of Liverpool
Matthew Birkenshaw Team Leader – Tobacco Control and Alcohol Labelling Policy Lead, Department of Health  
Andrew Black Team Leader, Development Assistance, WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control Secretariat  
Professor James Copestake Professor of International Development, University of Bath  
Professor Kara Hanson

Professor of Health System Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine 

Professor K. Srinath Reddy President, Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI)

Terms of reference for our Committees are available below: