Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics

Research

Overview of core research areas within the Usher Institute.

Our research builds on the outstanding heritage of public health, general practice, epidemiology and statistical research at the University of Edinburgh. We are forging new connections between social science, informatics and data science to advance understanding of disease and improve health and care for patients and populations.

The Usher Institute has an ethos of collaborative and interdisciplinary research. Many individuals contribute to multiple areas of research, and indeed individual projects and programmes of work often contribute to the knowledge base in multiple research areas and Centres. The below table gives an indication of the core research areas and leading professors in each area or group, from across all Centres within the Institute.

You can find out more about any researchers within the Usher Institute on Edinburgh Research Explorer.

Area

Key people    Related websites and social media
Addiction medicine

Professor Roy Robertson

Roy.Robertson@ed.ac.uk

 
Allergy and respiratory

Professor Aziz Sheikh

Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk

Professor Hilary Pinnock

Hilary.Pinnock@ed.ac.uk

Professor Harry Campbell Harry.Campbell@ed.ac.uk

Professor Harish Nair

Harish.Nair@ed.ac.uk

Allergy and Respiratory Research Group (lead: Aziz Sheikh)

@ARRG_EdUni

Respiratory Viral Epidemiology Group (leads: Harish Nair, Harry Campbell)

Respiratory Viral Epidemiology Group website

Twitter: @RespViralEpi

Asthma UK Centre for Applied Research (Director: Aziz Sheikh)

Asthma UK Centre for Applied Research website

@AUKCAR

RESPIRE (Directors: Aziz Sheikh, Harry Campbell)

NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Respiratory Health (RESPIRE) website

@RESPIREGlobal

RESCEU Programme (lead: Harish Nair)

RESCEU website

@RESCEUproject 

Scottish Allergy and Respiratory Academy (Director: Aziz Sheikh)

SARA website

Cancer

Professor David Weller

David.Weller@ed.ac.uk

 
Chronic disease epidemiology

Professor Sarah Wild

Sarah.Wild@ed.ac.uk

Diabetes Risk Calculator

Diabetes Risk Calculator website

Clinical trials and statistical methodology

Professor John Norrie

J.Norrie@ed.ac.uk

Professor Steff Lewis

Steff.Lewis@ed.ac.uk

Professor Chris Weir

Christopher.Weir@ed.ac.uk

Professor Paul McKeigue

Paul.McKeigue@ed.ac.uk

Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit (Director: John Norrie)

ECTU website

@EdinUniECTU

Paul McKeigue's Research Group

Paul McKeigue's research group website

eHealth

Professor Brian McKinstry

Brian.McKinstry@ed.ac.uk

Professor Aziz Sheikh

Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk

eHealth Research Group (lead: Brian McKinstry)

@eHResearchgroup

Telescot Programme (lead: Brian McKinstry)

Telescot Research Programme website

ePrescribing Programme

ePrescribing Research Programme website

Ethnicity and health

Professor Raj Bhopal

Raj.Bhopal@ed.ac.uk

Professor Aziz Sheikh

Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk

Edinburgh Migration and Ethnicity Health Research Group (lead: Laurence Gruer)

@EMEHRG

Scottish Health and Ethnicity Linkage Study (lead: Raj Bhopal)

Scottish Health and Ethnicity Linkage Study website

Global health

Professor Igor Rudan

Igor.Rudan@ed.ac.uk

Professor Harry Campbell

Harry.Campbell@ed.ac.uk

Professor Devi Sridhar

Devi.Sridhar@ed.ac.uk

Professor Mark Woolhouse

Mark.Woolhouse@ed.ac.uk

Professor Harish Nair

Harish.Nair@ed.ac.uk

TIBA (Director: Mark Woolhouse)

NIHR Global Health Research Unit Tackling Infections To Benefit Africa (TIBA) website

@TibaPartnership

Global Health Governance Programme (lead: Devi Sridhar)

Global Health Governance Programme website

@GlobalHealthGP

Medical informatics

Professor Cathie Sudlow

Cathie.Sudlow@ed.ac.uk 

Professor Aziz Sheikh

Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk

Professor Andrew Morris

Andrew.Morris@ed.ac.uk

Health Data Research UK Scotland (Director: Cathie Sudlow)

HDR UK Scotland site, on HDR UK website

ROADMAP (University of Edinburgh lead: Cathie Sudlow)

ROADMAP (Real World Outcomes Across The AD Spectrum For Better Care: Multi-Modal Data Access Platform) project website

UK Biobank (Chief Scientist: Cathie Sudlow)

UK Biobank website

Global Digital Exemplar Programme Evaluation Project (leads: Aziz Sheikh, Kathrin Cresswell)

Global Digital Exemplar Programme Evaluation website

NHS Digital Academy (Director: Aziz Sheikh)

NHS Digital Academy launch news on Usher Institute website

@NHSDigAcademy

Molecular epidemiology

Professor Jackie Price

Jackie.Price@ed.ac.uk

Professor Paul McKeigue

Paul.McKeigue@ed.ac.uk

Professor Harry Campbell

Harry.Campbell@ed.ac.uk

Professor Igor Rudan

Igor.Rudan@ed.ac.uk

Professor Sarah Wild

Sarah.Wild@ed.ac.uk

Professor Jim Wilson

Jim.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Molecular Epidemiology Research Group

Molecular Epidemiology Research Group website

Lothain Bowel Symptoms Study (lead: Evi Theodoratou)

The Lothian Bowel Symptoms Study (LABSS) website

Viking Genes study (lead: Jim Wilson)

Viking Genes study website

Palliative care

Professor Scott Murray

Scott.Murray@ed.ac.uk

Primary Palliative Care Research Group  (lead: Scott Murray)

Primary Palliative Care Research Group website

@PPCRG     

Social studies of health and medicine

Professor Amanda Amos

Amanda.Amos@ed.ac.uk

Professor Julia Lawton

J.Lawton@ed.ac.uk

Professor Sarah Cunningham-Burley

Sarah.C.Burley@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Biomedicine, Self and Society (Head: Sarah Cunningham-Burley)

Centre for Biomedicine, Self and Society website

@BiomedSelfSoc

Group for Research on Inequalities and Tobacco (lead: Amanda Amos)

Group for Research on Inequalitites and Tobacco website

Cancer and Society in the 21st Century Project (lead: Sarah Cunningham-Burley)

 Cancer and Society in the 21st Century website

Public health research and policy

Professor John Frank

John.Frank@ed.ac.uk