Usher Institute

New Year's Honours recognition

Professor Andrew Morris has been made a CBE in recognition of his services to science in Scotland.

Andrew Morris

Services to science in Scotland

Professor Andrew Morris, Vice Principal Data Science, and previous Director of the Usher Institute, was among 10 members of staff at the University of Edinburgh to receive honours this New Year.

He receives the honour in recognition of his services to science in Scotland.

Medical research

The current Director of the Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine at the University of Edinburgh, Professor Margaret Frame, has been awarded an OBE for her services to cancer research.  She is a Professor of Cancer Research and Science Director at the Edinburgh Cancer Research Centre.

Two honorary professors in the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine have been awarded OBEs.  

Professor Derek Bell received his award for services to unscheduled care and quality improvement. He is President of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.

Dr Angela Thomas received her award in recognition of her services to the regulation of public health. She is a consultant paediatric haematologist at Edinburgh’s Royal Hospital for Sick Children.

Across the University

Staff recognised in the New Year's Honours List 2018 - University news