Advanced Care Research Centre

ACRC Academy Advisory Board assembled

Students within the ACRC Academy will benefit from additional experience and leadership with confirmation of the Advisory Board. 

All seven of the new members confirmed their participation, offering leadership and insight in order to help the programme develop and ensure it meets the needs of the wider world. 

The Advisory Board, which will meet twice a year, will provide advice to the Leadership Team on the strategy of the ACRC Academy, research prioritisation for future cohorts, skills and attributes of Academy graduates, programme development; and programme sustainability. 

Each member was selected for their interest and expertise across innovation, technology and digital health, in order to support the development of our students. 

Professor Ian Underwood, Academy Director, said: 

“The wealth of knowledge and experience of the new ACRC Academy board members will ensure our ground-breaking programme continues to advance, and equips our graduates to become leaders uniquely positioned to address the complex and seemingly intractable challenges of an ageing society. 

The Academy was created to develop the next generation of leaders in this field who are both excellent in their core disciplines and skilled in working widely across disciplines and sectors. The core degree is a thematic, structured, cohort‐based four‐year PhD with Integrated Study. More than 40 PhD students will be enrolled over the early years of the programme.  

Board members will be in place for a term of three years. The members of the Advisory Board are: 

  • Dr. Sarah Barry, Assistant Professor of Health Services Management and SPHeRe Programme Director, Trinity College, Dublin 
  • Dr. Juliet McArthur, Chief Nurse, Research and Development, NHS Lothian 
  • Prof. Margaret Maxwell, Director of NMAHP Research Unit, University of Stirling 
  • Dr. Donald Macaskill, Chief Executive Officer, Scottish Care 
  • Dr. Margaret Whoriskey, Head of the Technology Enabled Care and Digital Healthcare Innovation Division, Deputy Director Digital Health and Care Directorate, Scottish Government 
  • Irene Oldfather, Director of Strategic Partnerships and Engagement, Health and Social Care Alliance, Scotland, Vice Chair, Scottish Ambulance Board 

  • Dr. Ken Sutherland, President, Canon Medical Research Europe, Ltd. 

More information about the Academy can be found here