Edinburgh Saltire Success

A book published by Edinburgh University Press and co-edited by an Edinburgh historian has won a prestigious award.

Senior lecturer Dr Jeremy Crang picked up the award for Scottish History Book of the Year with co-editors Edward Spiers and Matthew Strickland for A Military History of Scotland.

The book incorporates more than 30 chapters - including contributions from Dr Crang and five further Edinburgh scholars. The comprehensive anthology took six years to complete.

Professor Ewen Cameron, Chair of the Edinburgh University Press Committee, described the book as a triumph.

In particular, he praised the book’s innovative approach to military history with chapters on themes such as Scottish military music and the Scottish soldier in art and literature.

Trio of awards

Also collecting Saltire Awards were Professor Charles Withers, Ogilvie Chair of Geography, who won Scottish Research Book of the Year for ‘Scotland: Mapping the Nation’ (Birlinn). The book was co-authored with Christopher Fleet and Margaret Wilkes.

Completing a trio of Edinburgh awards, Corey Gibson, a fourth-year PhD candidate and Postgraduate Tutorial Assistant in Scottish Literature, was awarded the Ross Roy Medal for the best PhD in a field relating to Scottish Literature.

We were delighted to receive the Saltire award. The book was a major team effort and we are very grateful to all our contributors, and to Edinburgh University Press, for their support for the project.
Dr Jeremy CrangSchool of History, Classics and Archaeology

An esteemed honour

Established in 1965, The Scottish Saltire Society History Book of the Year Award was created in memory of historian and writer, Agnes Mure Mackenzie.

The Award is presented annually to a work of significant Scottish historical research.

The 2012 adjudication panel consisted of three leading experts in Scottish history: Professor Ted Cowan, Dr Catriona MacDonald and Professor Richard Oram.

Previous winners include Emma Rothschild, The Inner Life of Empires: An Eighteenth Century History (2011) and Catriona M. M. MacDonald, Whaur Extremes Meet (2010).