University Secretary's Group


The University of Edinburgh is a member of the League of European Research Universities (LERU), a consortium of some of the most renowned research universities in Europe. Founded in 2002 as a partnership of 12 leading research universities, it expanded its membership to 23 universities based in 12 European countries. LERU shares the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of internationally competitive research. It publishes its views on research and higher education in several types of publications.

LERU Doctoral Summer School

The LERU Doctoral Summer School is an annual event organised by different LERU members. While focus and format may differ depending on the institutions involved, the general ambition is to provide a learning experience of considerable and lasting added value, beyond what PhD candidates learn as a matter of course in the regular programme of their PhD training.

The aim of the LERU Doctoral Summer School is to provide doctoral candidates with unique professional and personal development opportunities beyond what they are generally exposed to in the course of their PhD training. By creating an exceptional and truly international, intercultural and interdisciplinary meeting of bright young minds, the Summer School creates a highly stimulating learning experience which is of long lasting value to the participants’ future careers.

If you have any questions on the Conference or Summer School, please contact Susan Hunter using the email address below.

Susan Hunter

Academic Policy Officer

Contact details

Further information

For further information on LERU please click on the link below to go to their homepage.