Talbot Rice Gallery

Talbot Rice Residents

Emerging Artist Programme



Talbot Rice Residents is a programme designed to provide time, support and nurture for early-career Scottish-based artists within the unique context of Talbot Rice Gallery, Edinburgh College of Art and the University of Edinburgh.


The opportunity is open to artists based anywhere in Scotland, who have been out of full-time education for a total of 3 years or more, or have at least 3 years demonstrable practice. 5 artists are selected from an annual Open Call, and are on the programme for a 2-year period.

In addition to ongoing curatorial and technical support from the Talbot Rice team, Residents are provided with studio and office space, access to workshops, libraries and collections, as well as contact with the vast academic community within the University of Edinburgh. As well as a fee, the Residents have a separate budget for production and travel, and are brought together for a week every 2 months for a programme of Masterclasses, workshops and social events. The end of the first year will be marked with a European research trip, and a new commissioned text on each of their practices.  

Whilst the emphasis of the programme is on research and development over outcome, encouraging rigorous exploration, experimentation and risk-taking, the Residents have the opportunity throughout to propose public events or showing of works, or works in progress. They are invited to consider and use the diverse estate of the University of Edinburgh as potential sites. The programme culminates with a Scottish study retreat and an exhibition of work in London shortly after the end of the second year.


The next Open Call will be in early summer 2019. Stay tuned for more details!



The Talbot Rice Residents programme is part of a UK-wide initiative funded by the Freelands Foundation to support and grow regional creative communities by fostering long term relationships and collaborations between artists and arts organisation.






First 5 Residents

TR Residents
Tako Taal, Sulaïman Majali, Stephanie Mann, Rosie O'Grady, Aideen Doran.