Sustainability

Contact us

We are a dedicated staff team with a range of backgrounds, skills and experience in social responsibility and sustainability.

Name Role Email Research Interests
Dave Gorman Director of Social Responsibility and Sustainability Dave.Gorman@ed.ac.uk

Dave is the department’s director and is the lead contact for responsible and social investments, sustainable travel policy and overall climate policy. Dave is a member of the University Executive, Investment Committee and Estates Committee. For meetings and diary planning, contact Dave’s PA, Wendy McDonald.

Scott Davidson Deputy Director SRS & Head of Sustainability Scott.Davidson@ed.ac.uk

Scott is the department’s deputy director and leads on the University climate strategy and sustainability. For meetings please contact Sarah Barnard (temporarily managing Scott's calendar).

General enquiries

Address: Department for Social Responsibility and Sustainability, The Boilerhouse, High School Yards, Edinburgh, EH1 1LT

Getting to the Boilerhouse

Instagram X Facebook LinkedIn Sign up for our newsletter

Sustainability Unit

Name Role Email Research Interests
Scott Davidson Deputy Director SRS & Head of Sustainability Scott.Davidson@ed.ac.uk

Scott is the department’s deputy director and leads on the University climate strategy and sustainability. For meetings please contact Sarah Barnard (temporarily managing Scott's calendar).

Jill Burnett Senior Implementation Manager Jill.Burnett@ed.ac.uk

Contact to discuss embedding sustainability in the University’s decision-making structures, business cases, culture, Colleges and Schools.

Iwona Cameron Senior Climate, Biodiversity and Sustainability Manager Iwona.Cameron@ed.ac.uk

Iwona manages the teams that work on Climate Strategy, carbon reporting, supply chains, labs, sustainable buildings, Sustainability Awards and the Sustainability Framework.

Matthew Lawson Senior SRS Learning, Teaching and Reporting Manager Matthew.Lawson@ed.ac.uk

Contact for learning, teaching, reporting and sector awards queries, such as the Green Gown Awards, QS Rankings, and THE sustainability rankings.

Andrew Arnott Climate, Biodiversity and Sustainability Manager Andrew.Arnott@ed.ac.uk

Contact to discuss the University’s Climate Strategy and also the Sustainable Campus Fund.

Georgia Law Biodiversity Programme Manager Georgia.Law@ed.ac.uk

Contact for all things biodiversity and related adaptation projects, including green space mapping, Hedgehog Friendly Campus and the University’s Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan.

Lauren McLeron Behaviour Change Programme Manager Lauren.Mcleron@ed.ac.uk

Contact for information about behaviour change initiatives that relate to climate, biodiversity and sustainability. 

Alan Peddie Sustainability Training Manager Alan.Peddie@ed.ac.uk

Contact to find out about staff and student training, including Carbon Literacy training and the Sustainability Champions network.

Siôn Pickering Sustainable Business & Fair Trade Programme Manager Sion.Pickering@ed.ac.uk

Contact for information about sustainability in our supply chains, procurement, food and modern slavery.

Louise Ross Carbon and Sustainability Analyst Louise.Ross@ed.ac.uk

Contact for information about the University’s carbon, biodiversity and sustainability analysis and reporting. Louise can also be contacted for information on business travel.

Elizabeth Vander Meer Research & Policy Manager (Climate Resilience and Biodiversity) Elizabeth.VanderMeer@ed.ac.uk

Liz is currently on secondment. Please contact Georgia Law or Kim Vender instead.

Rachael Barton SRS Projects Coordinator Rachael.Barton@ed.ac.uk

Contact to find out about sustainable labs, Sustainability Awards and the Sustainability Framework pilot.

Lucy Patterson Climate and Sustainability in the Curriculum Coordinator LPatters@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Contact to find out how to embed sustainability in the University’s curriculum, including living lab projects.

Bradley Richards IT Reuse Technician Bradley.Richards@ed.ac.uk

Contact to reuse or source IT equipment within the University, or donate to partner organisations, including community projects.

Kim Vender Coastal Restoration Project Coordinator KVender@ed.ac.uk

Contact for information on the University's engagement with blue carbon ecosystems and marine biodiversity.

Communications

Name Role Email Research Interests
Sarah Ford-Hutchinson Head of SRS Communications Sarah.Ford-Hutchinson@ed.ac.uk

Sarah leads on the University's overall climate & sustainability narrative and has an excellent working knowledge of climate-positive activity in research, teaching, University operations and partnerships.

Eppy Harries-Pugh Social Responsibility and Sustainability Communications Manager Eppy.Harries-Pugh@ed.ac.uk

Contact for queries relating to sustainability and social impact communications.

Cat Rossiter Communications Manager Cat.Rossiter@ed.ac.uk

Contact for queries relating to sustainability and social impact communications.

Alexandra Kuklinski Communications Coordinator Alexandra.Kuklinski@ed.ac.uk

Contact for queries relating to the University’s sustainability brand, website, content and campaigns. 

Eve Redhead Communications Coordinator Eve.Redhead@ed.ac.uk

Contact if you would like to work with us to promote opportunities on social media or in our newsletter. Eve also works on content and campaigns.

Departmental Operations and Administration

Name Role Email Research Interests
Matthew Lawson Senior SRS Learning, Teaching and Reporting Manager Matthew.Lawson@ed.ac.uk

Contact for learning, teaching, reporting and sector awards queries, such as the Green Gown Awards, QS Rankings, and THE sustainability rankings.

Wendy McDonald SRS Business Manager and PA to the Director Wendy.McDonald@ed.ac.uk

Contact for finance, office and recruitment queries related to the Department for Social Responsibility and Sustainability. PA to Dave Gorman.

Sarah Barnard Committees and Administration Officer Sarah.Barnard@ed.ac.uk

Contact for details on our committees and administration requests.

Shireen Jawas Administrator and Personal Assistant to Deputy Director Shireen.Jawas@ed.ac.uk

Personal Assistant to Scott Davidson. 

Katarina Zabecka Reporting and Administration Officer K.Zabecka@ed.ac.uk

Please contact for reporting queries and administration requests.

Social Impact Unit

Name Role Email Research Interests
Gemma Gourlay Head of Social Impact Gemma.Gourlay@ed.ac.uk

Gemma works on Social and Community Impact across the University. Please contact Anne Douglas first.

Sarah Anderson Senior Community Engagement Manager Sarah.Anderson@ed.ac.uk

Contact for queries about the University's community strategies and related work, including reporting, evaluation, best practice, contacts, and individual initiatives including community grants, community access to rooms and Dick Vet in the Community premises at 127 Nicolson St.

Bethany Parsons Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Coordinator Bethany.Parsons@ed.ac.uk

Contact for information about equality, diversity, and inclusion in the Corporate Services Group.

Petra Renman Community Engagement Projects Coordinator Petra.Renman@ed.ac.uk

Contact for community grants and other community projects.

Jenna Bogan Community Team Modern Apprentice Jenna.Bogan@ed.ac.uk

Forest and Peatland Project Unit

Name Role Email Research Interests
Yvonne Edwards Forest, Peat and Rural Land Manager Yvonne.Edwards@ed.ac.uk

Yvonne works on forest and peatland carbon sequestration, land acquisition and management. Please contact Misti first.

Lewis O'Dea Forest Site Manager LODea@ed.ac.uk

Lewis works on forest and peatland operations. Please contact Misti first.

Julie Wilson Community Ranger JWilso2@ed.ac.uk

Julie works on community engagement for forest and peatland projects. Please contact Misti first.

 

Misti Cooper Forest and Peatland Project Coordinator Misti.Cooper@ed.ac.uk

First point of contact for information about the Forest and Peatland Project.

Business Development (Edinburgh Innovations)

Name Role Email Research Interests
Charlotte Lee-Woolf Business Development Manager - Social Responsibility and Sustainability Charlotte.Lee-Woolf@ei.ed.ac.uk

Contact for commercial collaboration and partnership opportunities.

Peter Baker Business Development Executive (Nature & Biodiversity) Peter.Baker@ei.ed.ac.uk

Key contact for academics and external organisations seeking support with collaborative research & innovation projects that seek to address nature and biodiversity loss.

Megan Cleary Sustainability Innovation & Reporting Analyst Megan.Cleary@ei.ed.ac.uk

Responsible for building evidence and insight on sustainability related innovation and impact.

Victoria Darbyshire Business Development Executive (Circular Economy)

Key contact for academics and external organisations seeking support with collaborative research & innovation projects that support the transition to a circular economy.

Contact us through an online sign language interpreter

British Sign Language (BSL) users can contact the University of Edinburgh via Contact Scotland BSL, the online British Sign Language video relay interpreting service.

Find out more on the Contact Scotland BSL website