Clinical Surgery

School of Surgery Day

Our School of Surgery Day information page.

School of Surgery Day 2019

We would like to say thank you to all who participated and attended the School of Surgery Day 2019. Another great year, with some very exceptional work presented.

We shall confirm the School of Surgery Day 2020 in due course. 



Chiene Medal - Abstracts should be based on clinical or laboratory-based projects undertaken

within the Edinburgh ‘School of Surgery’. Those selected for an oral presentation will

compete for a Chiene Medal.


Clinical Prize - We are providing trainees with the opportunity to present some clinical

research projects or interesting case reviews.  Those selected for an oral presentation will

compete for a Clinical prize.


Abstracts should be no more than 400 words

(name electronic file: YourNameClinical.doc or YourNameChiene.doc)


Professor Kenneth CH Fearon Memorial Medal – The prize will be awarded to the surgeon in training or consultant within 1 year of appointment and working in South East Scotland, who in the opinion of the judging panel has published the most outstanding contribution as a single paper in the broad field of surgery in the calendar year preceding the award in a peer-reviewed journal. It is anticipated that the member be the first author of the publication or will have made a very significant contribution to the publication. The publication must be related to the broad field of surgery and its subspecialties and can include basic science, translational or clinical work published in the year preceding the date of the School of Surgery Day. For example, papers considered for the 2019 School of Surgery Day meeting must have been published in a journal dated between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2018.

 (Please contact me for further information and submission form for the above award).

Please email your abstracts to Susan Keggie:

by 5pm on Thursday 24th October 2019 (abstracts received after this date will not be considered)

School of Surgery Day 2019 Winners

Congratulations to our winners at the School of Surgery Day 2019, a list of the winners is below.

Chiene Prize Medal - James Blackmur - 'Human large bowel epithelial organoids are a model system to study gene environment interactions and transciptomic effects of pharmacologically relevent concentrations of vitamin D (calcitriol) on expression of genes implicated in colorectal cancer'. Ochocka-Fox AM, Vaughan-Shaw P, Donnelly K, Freile P, Svinti V, Reid S, Timofeeva M, Walker M, Gurran T, Din FVN, Farrington SM, Dunlop MG. 

Cheine Prize Medal Runner-up - Victoria Banwell - 'The role of miR-214 in renal ischaemia reperfusion induced injury and fibrosis'. J O'Sullivan, S Finnie, C Cairns, L Denby, L Marson

Mr. Ian B Macleod Medal - Janice Miller - 'Neuromuscular junctions are stable in rectus abdominis in patients with cancer'. Boehm I, Wishart TM, Wigmore SJ, Jones RA, Gillingwater T, Skipworth RJE 

Professor Kenneth Fearon Memorial Medal - Janice Miller - 'Validated screening tools for the assessment of cachexia, sarcopenia, and malnutrition: a systematic review'. Wells L, Nwulu U, Currow D, Johnson MJ, Sipworth RJE, American Journal of Clinical Nutrition 2018 Dec 1;108(6):1196-1208. 

We would also like to give thanks to our invited speaker, Professor Steven Yule who gave a speech on 'Astronauts: How NASA is learning from surgery to prepare for deep space missions'.  

Past and Previous School of Surgery Day Winners

Please see the list of past and previous school of surgery day winners. 

Year Chiene Medal 1st Place Chiene Medal 2nd Place Macleod Medal Professor Kenneth Fearon Medal Surgical Trainer of the Year
2019 James Blackmur Victoria Banwell Janice Miller Janice Miller Rajan Ravindran
2018 Kevin Gallagher N/A Peter Vaughan-Shaw Chris Johnston Graeme Couper
2017 Alastair Hayes N/A Stuart Goudie N/A N/A
2016 Peter Vaughan-Shaw N/A Nicholas Ventham N/A N/A
2015 Chris Johnston Richard McGregor Diana Wu N/A


2014 Ben Stutchfield N/A N/A N/A N/A
2013 Rachel Guest Ben Stutchfield N/A N/A N/A
2012 Stephen O'Neill Andrew Sutherland & Robert O'Neill N/A N/A N/A
2011 Janet Kung Mohamed Elhassan N/A N/A N/A
2010 Jennifer Richards Janet Kung N/A N/A N/A
2009 Andrew Robson Matthew Beesley N/A N/A N/A
2008 Anne Burdess Matthew Beesley N/A N/A N/A
2007 Grant Stewart Ian Currie N/A N/A N/A
2006 John Terrace Robert Hardy N/A N/A N/A
2004 Ewen Harrison Andrew MacDonald N/A N/A N/A
2003 Stephen McNally Andrew MacDonald N/A N/A N/A
2002 AJ Clark Stephen McNally & Andrew MacDonald N/A N/A N/A
2001 Gabriel Oniscu CI Adams N/A N/A N/A
2000 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
1999 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
1998 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
1997 Matthew Barber N/A N/A N/A N/A
1996 Aileen McKinley N/A N/A N/A N/A
1995 Stephen Wigmore N/A N/A N/A N/A
1994 Stephen Wigmore N/A N/A N/A N/A
1993 Christian Wakefield N/A N/A N/A N/A
1992 Mr Whyman N/A N/A N/A N/A
1991 John Windsor AL Wallace N/A N/A N/A
1990 AJ Duncan N/A N/A N/A N/A
1989 AM Thompson RG Wilson N/A N/A N/A
1988 Malcolm Dunlop N/A N/A N/A N/A