Widening Participation

About ACES

Find out all about the ACES project.

What is ACES?

ACES (Access to Creative Education in Scotland) is a project which provides encouragement and advice for state school students who may be under-represented in universities and who are considering applying to art and design based courses. Throughout Scotland, ACES is provided by:

University of Dundee

The University of Edinburgh

The Glasgow School of Art

Robert Gordon University

ACES at Edinburgh

ACES at Edinburgh is coordinated by the University of Edinburgh's Edinburgh College of Art and Widening Participation team. We  provide educational activities and support for young people from the target schools listed below, who are interested in pursuing courses in art / design.

Who Can Join ACES (Edinburgh)?

ACES works with S4, S5 and S6 pupils in schools of lower than average progression to Higher Education - in Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Scottish Borders and Forth Valley - who are interested in pursuing courses in art / design.

Our target schools are those with a three year average of less than 35% of pupils going straight on to higher education, which is consistent with all ACES providers in Scotland. Please note that target schools are likely to be reviewed on a 3-yearly basis with the next review therefore due in early 2021.

City of Edinburgh

  • Broughton High School
  • Castlebrae Community High School
  • Craigroyston Community High School
  • Drummond High Schoool
  • Forrester High School
  • Gracemount High School
  • Holy Rood RC High School
  • Leith Academy
  • Liberton High School
  • St Augustine's RC High School
  • Trinity Academy
  • Tynecastle High School
  • Wester Hailes Education Centre

East Lothian

  • Musselburgh Grammar School
  • Preston Lodge High School
  • Ross High School


  • Beeslack High School
  • Dalkeith High School
  • Lasswade High School Centre
  • Newbattle High School
  • St David's RC High School

West Lothian

  • Armadale Academy
  • Bathgate Academy
  • Deans Community High School
  • Inveralmond Community High School
  • Whitburn Academy

Scottish Borders

  • Eyemouth High School
  • Galashiels Academy
  • Hawick High School
  • Jedburgh Grammar School


  • Alloa Academy
  • Alva Academy
  • Lornshill Academy


  • Bo'ness Academy
  • Braes High School
  • Denny High School
  • Falkirk High School
  • Graeme High School
  • Grangemouth High School


  • Bannockburn High School
  • Wallace High School

If you attend any of the above schools and are considering applying to courses in art and design in the future, you can join ACES (Edinburgh). Follow the link below to register.

Register for ACES

Students who attend a state school from any of the areas above which is not on our target list may still be eligible to be involved, if they fulfil either of the criteria below:

- you are care experienced

- you are a Young Carer

- you live in a postcode area within the Scottish Index of Multiple Deprivation lowest 20% (SIMD20) or 40% (SIMD40)

To check if you are eligible, please contact ACES - details below.


ACES (Edinburgh)

Contact details