Scholarships and Student Funding

William Hunter Sharpe Memorial Scholarship

One or more scholarships are available to postgraduate students who are accepted onto the MSc Creative Writing programme (either full-time or by online distance learning) or the full-time MSc Playwriting programme.

These scholarships contribute towards tuition fees.


The scholarship will be awarded on the basis of academic merit with candidates requiring the equivalent of an upper second-class honours degree from a recognised university.

The Selection Panel will also consider the submitted portfolio of work as part of their selection.


All applicants who have applied for and/or been offered a place by 30th April 2017 for the for the MSc in Creative Writing programme or the MSc Playwriting programme will automatically be considered for this scholarship.


All applicants will be notified of the outcome by the end of May 2017.


Scholarship Winners

We are delighted to announce that the winners of the William Hunter Sharpe Memorial Scholarship 2015 are Alyson Kissner, Lisa Soviero and Thomas Stuchfield.