Scholarships and Student Funding

The Sanders Scholarship in Clinical Ophthalmology

A number of online learning Masters scholarships are available for the academic year 2021-2022.


Each scholarship will have a total value of £1,000, which will be deducted from the annual tuition fees for successful applicants' part-time programmes of study.  Successful candidates who receive the award in their first year of study may re-apply for a scholarship in each subsequent year of study but availability will be subject to uptake by new Year 1 applicants.


The scholarships will be awarded to students who are accepted for admission on to the online learning MSc in Primary Care Ophthalmology and the ChM in Clinical Ophthalmology at the University of Edinburgh. Applicants should already have been offered a place at the University of Edinburgh and should have firmly accepted that offer or be intending to do so.

Applicants must either be:

  1. medical or surgical trainees registered with the General Medical Council and working in a recognised training programme in the NHS, or,
  2. other health professionals involved in delivering eye care in the NHS (e.g., community and hospital optometrists, orthoptists, ophthalmic nurses, ophthalmic science practitioners, and other ophthalmic allied health professionals).


The scholarship will be awarded broadly on the basis of academic merit and evidence of a commitment to a career in medical or surgical ophthalmology and/or the applicant’s chosen eye care profession.


  1. Complete an online EUCLID application for the MSc in Primary Care Ophthalmology or the ChM (Master of Surgery) in Clinical Ophthalmology – instructions on full application process can be found on the University’s degree finder pages  for the MSc PCO and the ChM CO.  Wait for decision on application via EUCLID.
  2. Complete The Sanders Scholarship in Ophthalmology Application Form by 1st June 2021.

If your application for scholarship is successful, you must meet all of the University’s eligibility criteria for an unconditional offer of a place on the MSc in Primary Care Ophthalmology or the ChM in Clinical Ophthalmology, which must also be accepted.

Please note that these scholarship awards are likely to be oversubscribed and there is no guarantee you will be successful.  

Further information is available from the Edinburgh Surgery Online website:

MSc in Primary Care Ophthalmology

ChM in Clinical Ophthalmology


All applicants will be notified of the outcome at the end of August 2021.


Sarah Jones

ESO Programme Administrator

Contact details



Edinburgh Surgery Online
Rooms G10/G11
Simon Laurie House
196 Canongate

Post Code