Scholarships and Student Funding

NES Primary Care Ophthalmology Scholarship

NHS Education for Scotland’s (NES) Optometry Directorate will award up to twenty Master’s scholarships for the MSc in Primary Care Ophthalmology online distance learning programme delivered by the University of Edinburgh in the academic session 2018-2019.


The scholarship will have a total value of 50% of the course fees.  


The scholarships will be awarded to students who are accepted for admission on to the online distance learning MSc in Primary Care Ophthalmology at the University of Edinburgh. Applicants should already have been offered a place at the University of Edinburgh and should have firmly accepted that offer or be intending to do so.

Applicants must be optometrists registered with the General Optical Council and be working in the Scottish NHS, either as a community or hospital optometrist, and be resident in Scotland.


The scholarship will be awarded broadly on the basis of academic merit and evidence of a commitment to a career in primary care optometry/ophthalmology. Applicants without an excellent or very good classification of undergraduate degree (equivalent to first or upper second class honours in the UK) but who have the relevant work experience (3-5 years) will be considered on a case by case basis.

Award holders will be required by NES to commit to attending a number of NES-funded Optometry Teach and Treat Clinics in each year of study and these will be undertaken in their own time and at their own expense.

Further information is available here:


Information on how to apply will follow shortly - the closing date will be 27 July 2018.


All applicants will be notified of the outcome by the end September 2018.

Scholarships and Financial Support Team

Contact details