Scholarships and Student Funding

Kerr-Fry Award

Study awards for graduates of the University of Edinburgh who are also a former student of George Watson's College.

These research awards are for people who, because of their circumstances, would not normally be able to able to give up their usual work.

The Administering Board of the Kerr-Fry Bequest invites applications for these awards for the academic year 2018-2019. They are tenable from September 2018, from persons wishing to undertake research or experimental work in the area of their choice.


Preference is given to applicants who are:

  • able to demonstrate ties with Scotland
  • not less than twenty-five years old
  • both a graduate of the University of Edinburgh and a former student of at least three years standing at George Watson's College, Edinburgh

Applicants may find it useful to read the selection criteria used by the Selection Committee when considering applications.


Previous successful applications have undertaken a wide variety of projects. Studying for formal qualifications has been a popular use of awards, but in the spirit of the bequest the Administering Board would like to encourage applications that are less formally educative.

Past examples of such funded projects are :

  • a project to offer art therapy groups to parents and infants and scientifically evaluate their impact
  • a community and environmental project at Newbyres Castle Wildlife Garden
  • a project to research the First World War memoir of Christina Keith


Eligible applicants should complete an application form and submit it by Monday 2nd April 2018 to Scholarships and Student Funding Services

Applicants should refer to the application form  below (pdf and Word) for details of the references required.


Scholarships and Financial Support Team

Contact details

Notification of award

All applicants will be notified of the outcome by the end of May 2017.

Conditions of award

Successful candidates will be asked to submit a report to the Kerr-Fry Administering Board the year following receipt of their award.

Current award holders are asked to submit their report by 2 April 2018 at the very latest. The Report Submission Form can be completed online.