Student Disability Service

Protected characteristics

The Equality Act was passed in April 2010 and the first provisions became effective from 1 October 2010. The Act consolidates and streamlines previous anti-discrimination legislation which includes the Disability Discrimination Acts.

The nine protected characteristics

The following protected characteristics (previously known as equality strands) covered by the Equality Act 2010:

  • Age.
  • Disability.
  • Gender reassignment.
  • Marriage and civil partnership.
  • Pregnancy and maternity.
  • Race.
  • Religion and belief.
  • Sex.
  • Sexual orientation.

Continue reading about the Equality Act 2010