Student Immigration Service

Information for EU/EEA/Swiss students

Information about Brexit, the transition period, the EU Settlement Scheme, and what to expect from 2021.

As of 31 January 2020, the UK has formally left the EU.

We are now in a transition period until 31 December 2020, while the EU and UK negotiate their future relationship. During this time, the UK will continue to follow EU rules despite leaving the EU, which means that there are no immediate changes if you are an EEA or Swiss national, including where you have a dual nationality with a non-EEA/Swiss passport. 

The Transition Period

During the transition period, EU/EEA/Swiss nationals will still be able to enter under EU Freedom of Movement rules until 31 December 2020. During this time the UK will continue to follow EU rules, despite having left the EU, which means there are no immediate changes, including if you have dual nationality with a non-EU/EEA/Swiss country. Until 31 December 2020, EU/EEA/Swiss nationals will be able to exercise their treaty rights in the UK as normal.