The Chancellor's Awards 2011

The Chancellor's Awards were first awarded in 2003 and are one of the most important ways in which the University recognises outstanding contributions to teaching or research by individual members of staff.

Criteria for the Chancellor's Awards

The University wishes to recognise **three** current members of the University community who have, in the last five years, made an outstanding contribution to teaching and research and achieved national and international recognition for their work.

The University wishes to honour, in particular, early-career colleagues or employees who have yet to be awarded key accolades and are seen as an 'unsung hero' by their peers.

For the **Chancellor's Award for Teaching,** the University seeks to honour a colleague who has enhanced the teaching reputation of the University, through a significant contribution to improving or invigorating student learning at any level.

For the **Chancellor's Award for Research**, the University seeks to honour a colleague who has enhanced the research reputation of the University through a particularly significant contribution to the progress of research within their discipline.

For the **Rising Star Award**, the University seeks to honour a colleague who has been appointed to the University in the last five years and has not previously worked for more than five years in a similar broad discipline, and who has in this time made a particularly significant contribution in either teaching or research as described above.

It is also expected that all awardees will have an ability and a willingness to promote their work to both academic and non-academic audiences.

Who can nominate?

Any current member of the University community may nominate for any of the awards. Self-nominations are allowed and previous nominations may be resubmitted.

How to nominate

The relevant Head of School must approve all nominations in the first instance before being passed to the Head of College for approval. Colleges should group nominations according to the award sought and should rank nominations in order of preference – please indicate clearly the top two choices for each Award. Once grouped and ranked, nominations should be submitted to Ms Deepthi de Silva Williams in Communications and Marketing.

The information required will depend on the award sought:

Award for Teaching

- Please submit a brief statement that sets out the major contribution as set out in the criteria above.
- Please attach a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae, limited to two pages.

Please note: nominees should currently be teaching at Edinburgh and have been teaching here for a minimum of two years.

Rising Star Award if in Teaching

• All of the above, but please also indicate the year of appointment to the University.

Award for Research

- Please submit a brief statement that sets out the major contribution as set out in the criteria above. Please note that in principle just one piece of research work could be sufficient for a nomination.
- Please attach a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae, limited to two pages.

Please note: only research that has been carried out while under the employment of the University will be considered.

Rising Star Award if in Research

• All of the above, but please also indicate the year of appointment to the University.

Deadline for Nominations

Nomination to HoC must be received by Friday 25 April 2011. Final Nominations to Deepthi de Silva-Williams by Friday 6 May 2011.

Selection process

The Selection Panel will consider all nominations and the Convenor will make their recommendations to the Principal. It is intended that one Teaching Award, one Research Award and one Rising Star Award will be made although this is subject to variation depending on the nominations received.

The awards ceremony information will be confirmed at a later date.

There will be internal and external communication of the awards, which may involve Award winners in public speaking engagements, lectures, seminars and other similar events.

SELECTION PANEL 2011

Chair:

Professor Mary Bownes, Vice Principal for Research Training and Community Relations

Panel Members:

- 1. Professor Dorothy Meill, Vice Principal & Head of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences
- 2. Professor John Savill, Vice Principal & Head of the College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine
- 3. Professor Nigel Brown, Vice Principal & Head of the College of Science & Engineering
- 4. Professor Simon Bates, Professor of Physics Education
- 5. Professor Dai Hounsell, Vice-Principal Academic Enhancement
- 6. Dr Kim Waldron, University Secretary
- 7. President of EUSA

Applications to be sent via email to <u>Deepthi.dsw@ed.ac.uk</u>. Please put Chancellors Awards 2011 in the subject header.

If you have any questions please contact Deepthi de Silva-Williams on 0131 650 2247 or email: Deepthi.dSW@ed.ac.uk

Previous Chancellor's Award Winners

2003 Winners

Professor Ian Deary – Research Award Professor Peter Ghazal – Research Award

2004 Winners

Professor David Porteous - Research Award Professor Allan Cumming - Teaching Award

2005 Winners

Professor Jean Beggs – Research Award Dr Jane Dawson – Teaching Award

2006 Winners

Professor Donald Mackenzie – Research Award Dr Simon Bates – Teaching Award Professor Stuart West – Rising Star Award

2007 Winners

Professor David Leigh – Research Award Professor Susan Rhind – Teaching Award Professor Donald Bloxham – Rising Star Award

2008 Winners

Professor Joanna Wardlaw – Research Award Dr Sian Bayne – Teaching Award Dr Polly Arnold – Rising Star Award

2009 Winners

Professors Harry Campbell and Malcolm Dunlop - Research Award Dr John Lee – Teaching Award Dr Giles Hardingham - Rising Star Award

2010 Winners

Professor Peter Sandercock – Research Award Professor O James Garden – Teaching Award Dr Euan Brechin, - Rising Star Award