# Senate Exception Committee Terms of Reference

# 1 Purpose

1.1 Under delegated authority, to make urgent formal business decisions which would otherwise require Senatus approval between meetings of Senatus subject to defined principles and on the understanding that any matter so referred can be referred to the full Senatus should this be the wish of the Exception Committee.

# 2 Composition

- 2.1 The Committee shall consist of at least six members.
- 2.2 The Principal, the Provost, the Vice-Principal Students, the Convener of the Research Strategy Group, and the Convener of each of the Standing Committees of Senate shall be ex officio members of the Committee.
- 2.3 Unless otherwise represented, the membership of the Committee must also include six elected academic staff Senate members, including at least one such member from each College, and a representative of the Edinburgh University Students' Association (normally the President).
- 2.4 The term of office for Senate members, where they are not ex officio members of the Committee, will be no longer than their membership of the Senatus and will be for a maximum of three years.
- 2.5 Edinburgh University Student Association annually nominate one fully matriculated student to be a member of the Exception Committee; this is normally one of the elected Students' Association sabbatical officers
- 2.6 Previous members are eligible for re-appointment up to a normal maximum of two consecutive terms of office.
- 2.7 The Principal shall be appointed Convener of the Committee.
- 2.8 The Vice-Principal Students shall be appointed Vice-Convener of the Committee.

#### 3 Meetings

- 3.1 The Committee will be convened only if required and much of its business is expected to be conducted through correspondence.
- 3.2 The aim will be to circulate minutes, agendas and papers to members of the Committee at least five working days in advance of the meeting or prior to the conclusion of the consultation period. Notice of business shall be given to the Senatus to the extent possible, and papers made available upon request so that comments can be given to a member of the Committee. In cases of extreme urgency, which is likely to be the case given the nature of this Committee, and with the agreement of the Convener, papers may be tabled at meetings of the Committee. If being conducted by correspondence the consultation period may be no shorter than a 24 hour period.

- 3.3 Papers will indicate the originator/s and purpose of the paper, the matter/s which the Committee is being asked to consider and any action/s required and confirm the status of the paper in respect of freedom of information legislation.
- 3.4 Four members of the Committee shall be a quorum. This number must include the Principal or Vice-Principal Students and an elected academic staff Senate member.
- 3.5 A formal minute will be kept of proceedings and submitted for approval as soon as practicable to members of the Committee. The draft minute will be agreed with the Convener of the Committee prior to circulation.

# 4 Remit

- 4.1 To consider any matter between meetings of the Senatus that cannot await the next such meeting and with the delegated authority of Senatus to make a decision on the matter on behalf of the Senatus insofar as a decision cannot be deferred to a meeting of the Senatus
- 4.2 The Committee in reaching a decision must be satisfied regarding the following:
  - there is evidence of the consideration given to the equality impact of the matter under consideration; and
  - there is a robust rationale for the proposals or options being presented by the identified lead senior officer or officers including information on the outcome of any consultation undertaken.

## 5 Other

- 5.1 A report on issues discussed at each meeting or concluded via correspondence will be provided to the next available Ordinary Meeting of the Senatus.
- 5.2 Membership of the Committee will be published on the University's website.

Approved by Senate on 11 October 2023

# Senate Exception Committee Membership 2023-24

Name	Position/School	Term of office	Composition Section
Professor Peter Mathieson (Convener)	Principal	Ex Officio	2.2
Professor Kim Graham	Provost	Ex Officio	2.2
Professor Colm Harmon (Vice Convener)	Convener of the Education Committee, Vice Principal Students	Ex Officio	2.2
Professor Patrick Hadoke	Convener of Academic Policy and Regulations Committee	Ex Officio	2.2
Professor Tina Harrison	Convener of Senatus Quality Assurance Committee, Deputy Vice-Principal, Students (Enhancement)	Ex Officio	2.2
Professor Christina Boswell	Convener of the Research Strategy Group	Ex Officio	2.2
Dr Michael Barany	Elected academic member of Senate, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences	December 2022 – 31 July 2025	2.3
Dr Stuart Gilfillan	Elected academic member of Senate, College of Science and Engineering	December 2022 – 31 July 2025	2.3
Dr Ashley Lloyd	Elected academic member of Senate, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences	1 August 2021 – 31 July 2024	2.3

Dr Steven Morley	Elected academic member of Senate, College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine	December 2022 – 31 July 2025	2.3
Dr Darrick Evensen	Elected academic member of Senate, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences	December 2023 – 31 July 2026	2.3
Professor Patrick Walsh	Elected academic member of Senate, College of Science and Engineering	December 2023 – 31 July 2026	2.3
Carl Harper	Students' Association Vice- President Education	1 August 2023 – 31 July 2024	2.3