College of Science & Engineering

Research Centres

The seven Schools in the College are large academic groupings that offer many opportunities for collaboration between their disciplines.

We have developed a successful policy of investing in Research Centres to stimulate and enhance interdisciplinary research.

BRE Centre for Fire Safety Engineering (CFSE)

Edinburgh Infectious Diseases (EID)

Centre for Adapting to Changing Environments (ACE)

Centre for Speckled Computing (CSC)

Centre for Science at Extreme Conditions (CSEC)

Centre for Speech Technology Research (CSTR)

Centre for Statistics (CfS)

Centre for Translational and Chemical Biology (CTCB)

Edinburgh Climate Change Institute (ECCI)

Centre for Immunity, Infection and Evolution (CIIE)

Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre (EPCC)

Human Communication Research Centre (HCRC)

Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics (HCTP)

Industrial Doctorate Centre in Offshore Renewable Energy (IDCORE)

MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine (CRM)

Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage (SCCS)

Scottish Centre for Administrative Data Research (SCADR)

Scottish Microelectronics Centre (SMC)

Scottish Universities Environmental Research Centre (SUERC)

SynthSys - Centre for Synthetic and Systems Biology (formerly CSBE)

International Centre for Carbonate Reservoirs (ICCR)

UK Carbon Capture and Storage Research Centre (UKCCSRC)

Edinburgh Materials Microanalysis Centre (EMMAC)

Centre for Research on Environment, Society, and Health (CRESH)

International Centre for Mathematical Sciences (ICMS)

National Centre for Earth Observation (NCEO)

Centre for Design Informatics (CDI)

Centre for Neuroregeneration (CNR)

Digital Curation Centre (DCC)

Centre for Analysis and Nonlinear PDEs (CANPDE)

Centre for Numerical Algorithms and Intelligent Software (NAIS)

UK Centre for Astrobiology (UKCA)

UK Biochar Research Centre (UKBRC)

Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology (WTCCB)