The Roslin Institute
Roslin logo

Prestigious Wolfson Research Merit Awards Announced

Professor David Hume has been appointed one of 13 new Wolfson Research Merit Awards.

The Royal Society, the UK's national academy of science, has announced the appointment of 13 new Wolfson Research Merit Award holders. The scientists will take up their awards at institutions across the UK from the start of August.

Jointly funded by the Wolfson Foundation and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS), the scheme aims to provide universities with additional support to enable them to attract to this country or to retain respected scientists of outstanding achievement and potential.

Professor Hume's award is entitled "The biology of the mononuclear phagocyte system".

The newly appointed award holders are working on a wide variety of projects including the dynamics of virus transfer from African bat populations to humans; research to diagnose, prevent and treat preterm births in humans; and the development of novel mirrors that will enable us to access information from far out in our Universe obtainable in no other way.