Edinburgh Research Office

Good Research Practice Awards

These awards are intended to recognise and celebrate contributions that provide leadership and act as role models for good research practice. The awards have been organised by a University-wide group.

With these awards, we want to take a different approach to the conventional recognition of academic contribution, of grants applied for and awarded, of papers published and of research impact, to recognise that what people do between those lines can make a major contribution to our efforts at an institution, and can be very important in enabling others within our institution to be able to do their best research.

The award winners were announced at the Good Reserach Practice Awards evening on 18 November 2022.

Good Research Practice 2022 Award Winners

Good Research Citizenship Award

First place: Edinburgh ReproducibiliTea - Niamh MacSweeney and Laura Klinkhamer

Second place: Professor Catherine Lyall - Professor of Science and Public Policy, School of Social and Political Science


Responsible Research

First place: Creative Informatics - The Bayes Centre, The University of Edinburgh

Second place: Depression Detectives (Citizen Science Project)


Open Research Award

First place: Dr William Cawthorn - Senior Lecturer, Deanery of Clinical Sciences

Second place: PPLS Open Research Facilitators - Bonan Zhao, Georgia Carter, Alex Lorson, Giulia Giganti and Kenny Smith


Positive Disruptor Award

First place: Dr Nini Fang - Lecturer, School of Health in Social Science

Second place: Professor Gillian Gray - Edinburgh Medical School