Edinburgh Research Office

Who we are

Our people and their contact details. Click on an individual to find out more about their role and expertise.

Director of Edinburgh Research Office

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Lorna Thomson Director, Edinburgh Research Office lorna.thomson@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9012

Administration Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Beatriz Barreto Saalfeld PA to Director of Edinburgh Research Office Beatriz.Saalfeld@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9011
Karolina Borkowska-Szczurak Research Office Administrator karolina.szczurak@ed.ac.uk +44 0131 650 9054
Anne Newlands Research Support Administrator anne.newlands@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 651 4154

Communications Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Laura Cockram Communications Manager laura.cockram@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4088
Sarah Vernon Communications Support Officer sarah.vernon@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2099

Research Funding Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Anna Anderson Senior Research Funding Specialist anna.anderson@ed.ac.uk BioQuarter 0131 651 9975
Mary Bailes Research Funding Specialist Mary.Bailes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 9975
Caroline Barbour Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) Caroline.Barbour@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9017
Laura Bonsall Research Funding Specialist laura.bonsall@ed.ac.uk
Dr Natasha Curley Senior Research Funding Specialist (EU/International) Natasha.Curley@ed.ac.uk 01316519985
Dr Boleslaw Czarnecki Proposal Development Executive (EU & International) boleslaw.czarnecki@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6514049
Steven Docherty Research Funding Specialist Steven.Docherty@ed.ac.uk
David Dougal Research Funding Specialist David.Dougal@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9025
Tasneem Irshad Research Funding Specialist tasneem.irshad@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6519971
Fiona King Research Funding Specialist fiona.king@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9032
Dr. Andy Liken Senior Research Funding Specialist andrew.liken@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 9989
Ina Lindsay Senior Research Funding Specialist Ina.Lindsay@ed.ac.uk 01316514023
Dr Jenny Loukes Senior Research Funding Specialist jennifer.loukes@ed.ac.uk 651 4061
Rosanna Maccagnano UK Research Funding Manager rosanna.maccagnano@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4175
Dawne Milligan Research Funding Specialist dawne.milligan@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9034
Dr Angus Moodycliffe UK Research Funding Manager Angus.Moodycliffe@ed.ac.uk 0131 6514176
Gillian-F. Mutanga Research Funding Specialist Gillian.Mutanga@ed.ac.uk 01316519969
Dr Paul Reay Head of Research Funding Paul.Reay@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4174
Dr Siân Robson Research Funding Specialist sian.robson@ed.ac.uk 01316519969
Dr Aine Ryan Research Funding Manager (EU & International) aine.ryan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 9024
Dr Karen Sooy Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) karen.sooy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4386
Dr Abigail Steed Research Funding Specialist Abigail.Steed@ed.ac.uk
Dr Eirini Theofanidou Proposal Development Executive (EU & International) E.Theofanidou@ed.ac.uk +44 (131) 651 4039
Cheryl Thomas Research Funding Specialist cheryl.thomas@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 9014
Dr Hannah Wheeldon Research Funding Specialist hannah.wheeldon@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 9968
Charis Wilson Senior Research Funding Specialist charis.wilson@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9025

Research Grants Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Francis Aiken International Research Grants Administrator francis.aiken@ed.ac.uk +44 131 650 2315
Rizwaan Akhtar Research Grants Administrator (International Grants SCE & CAHSS) Rizwaan.Akhtar@ed.ac.uk
Murray Bell Research Grants Administrator (EPCC, School of Informatics, School of Literatures Languages & Cultures, and School of Physics & Astronomy) murray.bell@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9068
Mrs Marieke Blair Research Grants Administrator M.Blair@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2186
Jackie Boyce Research Grants Manager Jacqueline.Boyce@ed.ac.uk
Corinna Bremer Research Grants Administrator
Dax Carroll Head of Research Finance dax.carroll@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4910
Stuart Dalgliesh Research Grants Administrator stuart.dalgliesh@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2106
Elaine Fortune Research Grants Administrator Elaine.Fortune@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4780
Olga Garcia Sabater In my role as Research Grants Administrator, I support Centre for Inflammation Research and Centre for Integrative Physiology olga.garcia-sabater@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 97 43
Andrea Harnaman Research Grants Administrator Andrea.Harnaman@ed.ac.uk
Hilary Hunt Research Grants Administrator hilary.hunt@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9095
Mr Michael Hunter Research Grants Administrator Michael.Hunter@ed.ac.uk
Laura Hurrie Research Grants Administrator laura.hurrie@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2435
Loukia Koutsoventi Research Finance Manager (EU & International) Loukia.Koutsoventi@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9532
Linda Lane Research Grants Administrator Linda.Lane@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2194
Barbara Lindfield Research Grants Administrator barbara.lindfield@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4584
Jennifer Mills Training Accountant - Research Grants jennifer.mills@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2193
Emma Munro Research Grants Administrator Emma.Munro@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2850
Una Murray Research Grants Administrator una.murray@ed.ac.uk
Arti Nair Research Liaison Manager arti.nair@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4385
Manju Nair Research Grants Administrator manju.nair@ed.ac.uk 0131 6514216
Cristiana Nicoletti Research Grants Administrator cristiana.nicoletti@ed.ac.uk
Gul Noor Ahmed Research Liaison Manager gul.noor@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9516
Delphine Perret Research Grants Administrator delphine.perret@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9748
Jane Robertson In my role as Research Grants Administrator, I support Chemistry and Law jane.robertson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4911
Ms Eirini Souri Deputy Research Finance Manager - EU & International Eirini.Souri@ed.ac.uk
Efstratios Stylianos Vostanis Research Grants Administrator Efstratios.Vostanis@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9742
Kirsty Walker Research Grants Support Officer - EU kirsty.walker@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2190

Research Contracts, Governance and Integrity Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Helen Breheny Contracts Support Officer helen.breheny@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4045
Alan Campbell Research Integrity Manager alan.campbell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4048
Ann Greybe Solicitor, Contracts Manager Ann.Greybe@ed.ac.uk
Susana Guzman Contracts Support Officer Susana.Guzman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9369
Katy Leggate Contracts Officer katy.leggate@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6747
Ishbel MacPherson Solicitor, Senior Contracts Manager ishbel.macpherson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4046
David Murphy Solicitor, Contracts Manager D.Murphy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6530248
Carina Rodriguez Contracts Officer Carina.Rodriguez@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 65 514185
Alan Shanks Solicitor, Senior Contracts Manager allan.shanks@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9051
Martina Vajsova Contracts Manager Martina.Vajsova@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4485
Maria Val Fernandez Solicitor, Contracts Manager maria.val@ed.ac.uk
Clare Whittaker Head of Research Contracts, Governance and Integrity clare.whittaker@ed.ac.uk +44(0) 131 651 4052

Strategic Research Development Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Catherine Burns Assistant Director Catherine.Burns@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4134
Dr Kirsty Collinge Strategic Research Executive kirsty.collinge@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 90 59
Nicholas Duvall Research Development Officer nicholas.duvall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9058
Al Innes Research Development Officer al.innes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4250
Dr Louise Ker Research Business Intelligence Officer Louise.Ker@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 650 9060
Sophie Lowry Strategic Research Executive sophie.lowry@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4163
Dr Isobel Marr International Development Research Officer isobel.marr@ed.ac.uk 0131 6514132
Beth Muir International Development Research Hub Administrator beth.muir@ed.ac.uk / idr.hub@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 650 9078
Jonathan Rans Strategic Research Executive j.rans@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4162
Dr Conor Snowden International Development Research Manager conor.snowden@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6509105
Roy Woolley Business Intelligence Officer roy.woolley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4153

Knowledge Exchange and Impact Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Madeleine Beveridge Knowledge Exchange and Impact Coordinator Madeleine.Beveridge@ed.ac.uk 0131 6509370
Mara Götz Knowledge Exchange Administrator mara.goetz@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9013
Anne Sofie Laegran Head of Knowledge Exchange and Impact a.s.laegran@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4203
Dr Shonagh McEwan Knowledge Exchange and Communications Advisor shonagh.mcewan@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4211
Fiona Pilgrim Business Engagement Executive fiona.pilgrim@ed.ac.uk
Clare Sowney Business Development Manager - CAHSS clare.sowney@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4388