Edinburgh Research Office

Who we are

Our people and their contact details. Click on an individual to find out more about their role and expertise.

Getting in touch with us

Edinburgh Research Office staff are working in a hybrid manner. Please contact us by email in the first instance.


Director of Edinburgh Research Office

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Dr Lorna Thomson Director, Edinburgh Research Office lorna.thomson@ed.ac.uk

Administration Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Beatriz Barreto Saalfeld PA to Director of Edinburgh Research Office Beatriz.Saalfeld@ed.ac.uk
Kalina Charvala Research Office Administrator Kalina.Charvala@ed.ac.uk
Anne Newlands Research Support Administrator anne.newlands@ed.ac.uk

Engagement and Communications


Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Laura Cockram Head of Engagement and Communications laura.cockram@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Thomas Communications Officer Sarah.Thomas@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Vernon Communications Support Officer sarah.vernon@ed.ac.uk

Research Funding Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Seth Amanfo Senior Research Project Manager, Una Europa Research and Innovation Project seth.amanfo@ed.ac.uk
Anna Anderson Clinical Research Funding Coordinator anna.anderson@ed.ac.uk
Mary Bailes Research Funding Specialist Mary.Bailes@ed.ac.uk
Dr Laura Bonsall Research Funding Specialist laura.bonsall@ed.ac.uk
Marc Campbell Research Funding Specialist Marc.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Chater Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) Hannah.Chater@ed.ac.uk
Helen Cross Research Funding Specialist helen.cross@ed.ac.uk
Dr Natasha Curley Senior Research Funding Specialist (EU/International) Natasha.Curley@ed.ac.uk
Dr Boleslaw Czarnecki Proposal Development Executive (EU & International) boleslaw.czarnecki@ed.ac.uk
Steven Docherty Research Funding Specialist Steven.Docherty@ed.ac.uk
David Dougal Senior Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) David.Dougal@ed.ac.uk
Nicholas Duvall Research Funding Manager Nicholas.Duvall@ed.ac.uk
Emma Giles Research Funding Specialist emma.giles@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Hazelton Head of Research Funding jennifer.hazelton@ed.ac.uk
Fiona King Research Funding Specialist fiona.king@ed.ac.uk
Daria Kitaeva Research Funding Specialist Daria.Kitaeva@ed.ac.uk
Ina Lindsay Senior Research Funding Specialist Ina.Lindsay@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jenny Loukes Senior Research Funding Specialist jennifer.loukes@ed.ac.uk
Georgios Matrakas Research Funding Specialist george.matrakas@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jochen F. Mayer Research Funding Specialist Jochen.Mayer@ed.ac.uk
Dawne Milligan Clinical Research Funding Specialist dawne.milligan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Angus Moodycliffe UK Research Funding Manager Angus.Moodycliffe@ed.ac.uk
Gillian-F. Mutanga Research Funding Specialist Gillian.Mutanga@ed.ac.uk
Dr Juliane Schroeder Research Funding Specialist Juliane.Schroeder@ed.ac.uk
Dr Elisabetta Spano Proposal Development Executive (EU & International) elisabetta.spano@ed.ac.uk
Angela Sturniolo Research Support Officer angela.sturniolo@ed.ac.uk
Stacey Thomson Research Finance Specialist Stacey.Thomson@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Wheeldon Senior Research Funding Specialist hannah.wheeldon@ed.ac.uk
Charis Wilson Senior Research Funding Specialist charis.wilson@ed.ac.uk

Research Grants Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Rizwaan Akhtar Research Grants - Post Award (International Grants SCE & CAHSS) Rizwaan.Akhtar@ed.ac.uk
Mrs Marieke Blair Research Grants Administrator M.Blair@ed.ac.uk
Karolina Borkowska-Szczurak Research Grants Administrator karolina.szczurak@ed.ac.uk
Ana Castillo Research Grants Support Administrator ana.castillo@ed.ac.uk
Ellie Cockram Research Grants Support Officer ecockram@ed.ac.uk
Stuart Dalgliesh Research Grants Administrator stuart.dalgliesh@ed.ac.uk
Elaine Fortune Research Grants Administrator Elaine.Fortune@ed.ac.uk
Olga Garcia Sabater In my role as Research Grants Administrator, I support Centre for Inflammation Research and Centre for Integrative Physiology olga.garcia-sabater@ed.ac.uk
Sonia Hadj Said Research Grants Administrator shadjsa@ed.ac.uk
Laura Hurrie Research Grants Administrator laura.hurrie@ed.ac.uk
Loukia Koutsoventi Research Finance Manager (EU & International) Loukia.Koutsoventi@ed.ac.uk
Linda Lane Research Grants Administrator Linda.Lane@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Lindfield Research Grants Administrator barbara.lindfield@ed.ac.uk
Libby McCue Head of Research Finance Libby.McCue@ed.ac.uk
Emma Munro Research Grants Administrator Emma.Munro@ed.ac.uk
Una Murray Research Grants Administrator una.murray@ed.ac.uk
Arti Nair Deputy Research Finance Manager- UK arti.nair@ed.ac.uk
Manju Nair Research Grants Administrator manju.nair@ed.ac.uk
Cristiana Nicoletti Deputy Research Finance Manager cristiana.nicoletti@ed.ac.uk
Delphine Perret Research Grants Administrator delphine.perret@ed.ac.uk
Jane Robertson Research Grants Administrator jane.robertson@ed.ac.uk
Katie Robertson Research Grants Administrator Katie.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
Ms Eirini Souri Deputy Research Finance Manager - EU & International Eirini.Souri@ed.ac.uk
Didem Kaner Ural Research Grants Administrator didem.kaner@ed.ac.uk
Kathryn Williamson Research Grants Administrator kathryn.williamson@ed.ac.uk
Ms. Emma Zou Research Finance Specialist emma.zou@ed.ac.uk

Research Contracts, Governance and Integrity Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Sanchit Anand Export Control Specialist sanchit.anand@ed.ac.uk
Kat Boczek Contracts Support Officer kat.boczek@ed.ac.uk
Carolyn Brown Contracts Support Officer carolyn.brown@ed.ac.uk
Alan Campbell Research Integrity Manager alan.campbell@ed.ac.uk
Susana Guzman Contracts Officer Susana.Guzman@ed.ac.uk
George Lyons Senior Contracts Manager George.Lyons@ed.ac.uk
Katarina MacDonald Tomolova Contracts Manager Katarina.Tomolova@ed.ac.uk
Laura Main Contracts Support Officer laura.main@ed.ac.uk
Kwadwo Koree Ohemeng-Boakye Contracts Manager kk.ohemengboakye@ed.ac.uk
Veronica Pagnani Contracts Support Officer veronica.pagnani@ed.ac.uk
Alan Shanks Solicitor, Interim Head of Research Contracts allan.shanks@ed.ac.uk
Carmen Soriano Grau Contracts Officer Carmen.Soriano@ed.ac.uk
Martina Vajsova Contracts Manager Martina.Vajsova@ed.ac.uk
Maria Val Fernandez Solicitor, Contracts Manager maria.val@ed.ac.uk
Annie Vozar Contracts Manager annie.vozar@ed.ac.uk

Strategic Research Development Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Dr Charlotte Brady Strategic Research Executive charlotte.brady@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Burns Assistant Director Catherine.Burns@ed.ac.uk
Dr Susan Cooper Strategic Research Executive (Research Policy) Susan.Cooper@ed.ac.uk
Al Innes Research Development Officer al.innes@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Rans Strategic Research Executive j.rans@ed.ac.uk
Dr Conor Snowden Strategic Research Executive (International Development) conor.snowden@ed.ac.uk

Knowledge Exchange and Impact Team

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Mara Götz Knowledge Exchange Administrator mara.goetz@ed.ac.uk
Dr Anne Sofie Laegran Head of Knowledge Exchange and Impact a.s.laegran@ed.ac.uk
Tracy Ann Lonie Public Engagement Administrator Tracy.Lonie@ed.ac.uk
Dr Shonagh McEwan Knowledge Exchange and Communications Advisor shonagh.mcewan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Fiona Murray Public Engagement Coordinator f.murray@ed.ac.uk
Taryn Murray Knowledge Exchange & Impact Coordinator taryn.murray@ed.ac.uk