Edinburgh Research Office

Research Funding Team

We work with researchers, and the local professional services colleagues who support them, at all stages of research grant proposal preparation.

We are connected across the University which enables us to provide advice to researchers in all disciplines and to support interdisciplinary research projects.

We:

  • Share information and give advice on funding sources.
  • Run learning events on research funding.
  • Provide budget development for research proposals, including liaison with other institutions for collaborative proposals.
  • Help draft and proof-read non-technical aspects of proposals.
  • Provide layman’s critique for technical aspects of research proposals.
  • Check scheme compliance and provide advice on eligibility criteria.
  • Arrange mock interviews.
  • Help draft and secure signatures on letters of support.
  • Process certain contracts, e.g. funder and collaboration agreements.
  • Conduct due diligence.
  • Submit research proposals on behalf of the University.

Who do I contact?

Research Funding Specialists are the first point of contact in Edinburgh Research Office for researchers and professional services colleagues in local Research Offices.

Find my Research Funding Specialist

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Seth Amanfo Senior Research Project Manager, Una.Resin seth.amanfo@ed.ac.uk
Anna Anderson Senior Research Funding Specialist anna.anderson@ed.ac.uk
Mary Bailes Research Funding Specialist Mary.Bailes@ed.ac.uk
Dr Laura Bonsall Research Funding Specialist laura.bonsall@ed.ac.uk
Marc Campbell Research Funding Specialist Marc.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Chater Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) Hannah.Chater@ed.ac.uk
Helen Cross Research Funding Specialist helen.cross@ed.ac.uk
Dr Natasha Curley Senior Research Funding Specialist (EU/International) Natasha.Curley@ed.ac.uk
Dr Boleslaw Czarnecki Proposal Development Executive (EU & International) boleslaw.czarnecki@ed.ac.uk
Steven Docherty Research Funding Specialist Steven.Docherty@ed.ac.uk
David Dougal Senior Research Funding Specialist David.Dougal@ed.ac.uk
Emma Giles Research Funding Specialist emma.giles@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Hazelton Head of Research Funding jennifer.hazelton@ed.ac.uk
Tasneem Irshad Research Funding Specialist tasneem.irshad@ed.ac.uk
Fiona King Research Funding Specialist fiona.king@ed.ac.uk
Daria Kitaeva Research Funding Specialist Daria.Kitaeva@ed.ac.uk
Dr. Andy Liken Senior Research Funding Specialist andrew.liken@ed.ac.uk
Ina Lindsay Senior Research Funding Specialist Ina.Lindsay@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jenny Loukes Senior Research Funding Specialist jennifer.loukes@ed.ac.uk
Rosanna Maccagnano UK Research Funding Manager rosanna.maccagnano@ed.ac.uk
Dawne Milligan Research Funding Specialist dawne.milligan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Angus Moodycliffe UK Research Funding Manager Angus.Moodycliffe@ed.ac.uk
Gillian-F. Mutanga Research Funding Specialist Gillian.Mutanga@ed.ac.uk
Dr Aine Ryan Research Funding Manager (EU & International) aine.ryan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Elisabetta Spano Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) elisabetta.spano@ed.ac.uk
Dr Abigail Steed Research Funding Specialist Abigail.Steed@ed.ac.uk
Angela Sturniolo Research Support Officer angela.sturniolo@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Wheeldon Research Funding Specialist hannah.wheeldon@ed.ac.uk
Charis Wilson Senior Research Funding Specialist charis.wilson@ed.ac.uk