Edinburgh Research Office

Research Funding Team

We work with researchers, and the local professional services colleagues who support them, at all stages of research grant proposal preparation.

We are connected across the University which enables us to provide advice to researchers in all disciplines and to support interdisciplinary research projects.

We:

  • Share information and give advice on funding sources.
  • Run learning events on research funding.
  • Provide budget development for research proposals, including liaison with other institutions for collaborative proposals.
  • Help draft and proof-read non-technical aspects of proposals.
  • Provide layman’s critique for technical aspects of research proposals.
  • Check scheme compliance and provide advice on eligibility criteria.
  • Arrange mock interviews.
  • Help draft and secure signatures on letters of support.
  • Process certain contracts, e.g. funder and collaboration agreements.
  • Conduct due diligence.
  • Submit research proposals on behalf of the University.

Who do I contact?

Research Funding Specialists are the first point of contact in Edinburgh Research Office for researchers and professional services colleagues in local Research Offices.

Find my Research Funding Specialist

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Anna Anderson Senior Research Funding Specialist anna.anderson@ed.ac.uk BioQuarter 0131 651 9975
Mary Bailes Research Funding Specialist Mary.Bailes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 9975
Dr Laura Bonsall Research Funding Specialist laura.bonsall@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Chater Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) Hannah.Chater@ed.ac.uk
Helen Cross Research Funding Specialist helen.cross@ed.ac.uk
Dr Natasha Curley Senior Research Funding Specialist (EU/International) Natasha.Curley@ed.ac.uk 01316519985
Dr Boleslaw Czarnecki Proposal Development Executive (EU & International) boleslaw.czarnecki@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6514049
Steven Docherty Research Funding Specialist Steven.Docherty@ed.ac.uk
David Dougal Senior Research Funding Specialist David.Dougal@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9025
Emma Giles Research Funding Specialist emma.giles@ed.ac.uk 01316514025
Tasneem Irshad Research Funding Specialist tasneem.irshad@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6519971
Fiona King Research Funding Specialist fiona.king@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9032
Daria Kitaeva Research Funding Specialist Daria.Kitaeva@ed.ac.uk
Dr. Andy Liken Senior Research Funding Specialist andrew.liken@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 9989
Ina Lindsay Senior Research Funding Specialist Ina.Lindsay@ed.ac.uk 01316514023
Dr Jenny Loukes Senior Research Funding Specialist jennifer.loukes@ed.ac.uk 651 4061
Rosanna Maccagnano UK Research Funding Manager rosanna.maccagnano@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4175
Dawne Milligan Research Funding Specialist dawne.milligan@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9034
Dr Angus Moodycliffe UK Research Funding Manager Angus.Moodycliffe@ed.ac.uk 0131 6514176
Gillian-F. Mutanga Research Funding Specialist Gillian.Mutanga@ed.ac.uk 01316519969
Dr Aine Ryan Research Funding Manager (EU & International) aine.ryan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 9024
Dr Elisabetta Spano Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) elisabetta.spano@ed.ac.uk
Dr Abigail Steed Research Funding Specialist Abigail.Steed@ed.ac.uk
Angela Sturniolo Research Support Officer angela.sturniolo@ed.ac.uk
Dr Eirini Theofanidou Proposal Development Executive (EU & International) E.Theofanidou@ed.ac.uk +44 (131) 651 4039
Dr Hannah Wheeldon Research Funding Specialist hannah.wheeldon@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 9968
Charis Wilson Senior Research Funding Specialist charis.wilson@ed.ac.uk
Ms. Emma Zou Research Finance Specialist emma.zou@ed.ac.uk