Centre for Regenerative Medicine

CRM students

Student profiles.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Thesis title Email
Niya Aleksieva Role of paracrine senescence in the differentiation of hepatic progenitor cells into functional hepatocytes niya.aleksieva@ed.ac.uk
Aaron Alonso Torrens Is anterior-posterior identity of neurons important in development and regeneration? A.Alonso-Torrens@sms.ed.ac.uk
Graham Anderson The Role of Ultraviolet Radiation in Age-Related Macular Degeneration (AMD) Onset and Pathogenesis – an In Vitro Study s1139761@ed.ac.uk
Eric Antunes Identification of the cell of origin in MLLAF9 - associated infant leukaemia e.antunes@ed.ac.uk
James Ashmore jashmore@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Sunniva Bøstrand Oligodendroglial Dysfunction in Huntington's Disease sunniva.bostrand@ed.ac.uk
Benedetta Carbone Acceleration of nueral maturatio0n in vitro to generate fully functional human neurons s1134482@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shiau Haln Chen shiauhaln.chen@ed.ac.uk
Yixi Chen Next-generation midbrain dopaminergic neural products from engineered human pluripotent stem cells – a novel cell therapy for Parkinson’s s1573487@sms.ed.ac.uk
Azzurra Codino Function of RNA binding protiens in spermatogonial stem cells s1532530@sms.ed.ac.uk
Edie Crosse s1532897@sms.ed.ac.uk
Azzurra De Pace Regulatory RNA and the immortal lineage azzurral.depace@ed.ac.uk
Katie Ember Mapping of the chemistry of pre-malignant bile duct cancer cholangiocarcinoma kember@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Hannah Esser h.esser@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kirsty Ferguson Role of FOX and SOX transcription factors in glioblastoma s1532337@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marisa da Fonseca Ferreira The influence of cholangiocyte senescence and its senescence-associated secretory phenotype on hepatocyte to cholangiocyte differentiation marisa.ferreira@ed.ac.uk
Matthew French Direct cell-cell communication mediating cell fate decisions in NMPs m.a.french@sms.ed.ac.uk
Katharine Furlong s1773235@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ivana Gachulincova The Structural Basis of Pioneer Factors in Reprogramming to Pluripotency s1659154@sms.ed.ac.uk
Asier Galarza Torre Non-coding RNA and the immortal lineage asier.galarza@ed.ac.uk
Sophie Glendinning Investigating the relationship between LRRK2 kinase activity and a-synuclein pathology s.glendinning-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
Adelle Greene “Understanding Haematopoietic stem cell development through global single-cell gene expression analysis” A.Greene-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
Abbie Guild Structural and functional analyses of Nanog and Sox2 in ESCs A.J.Guild@sms.ed.ac.uk
John Hallett Human Hepatic progentitor cells as source s0456399@sms.ed.ac.uk
Madeleine Heep Exploring the mechanism and function of SPOCD1, a novel effector of piRNA-directed DNA methylation m.heep@sms.ed.ac.uk
Murtadhah Mohammed Kurdi Jalal m.jalal@ed.ac.uk
Nina-Lydia Kazakou Understanding the role of different oligodendrocyte ‘states’ to successfully improve remyelination in multiple sclerosis s1241040@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jee soo Kim Using cars microscopy to analyse adatpive myelination s1105419@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ute Koeber Synthetic morphogenetic factors for tissue patterning s1583846@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kay Kong s1311335@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gabriela Konieczny s1448979@sms.ed.ac.uk
Craig Leighton Investigating oligomerisation and post-translational modification of α-synuclein s1681074@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eilidh Livingstone The role of cell Senesence in instructing migration if the ductular reaction eilidh.livingstone@ed.ac.uk
Mark MacMillan-John Improving engraftment for cell therapy in cholangiopathies m.t.macmillan-john@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christopher Mapperley The Role of RNA Metabolism in Haematopoietic Stem Cell Biology chris.mapperley@ed.ac.uk
Alisha May Investigating the effect of the KLF1-E325K mutation on the macrophage compartment of the erythroid island niche a.may-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
Katrina McCarten INVESTIGATING THE FUNCTION OF SOX INTERACTING PARTNERS IN MOUSE NEURAL STEM CELLS AND GLIOBLASTOMA NEURAL STEM CELLS s1531952@ed.ac.uk
John McKendrick Adult Progenitors, Their Niche and Ageing s1773846@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ella Mercer The role of cholinergic signalling in regulating inflammation of the salivary glands following radiotherapy. ella.mercer@ed.ac.uk
Ammar Natalwala Invertigating propogation of pathogenic alpha-synuclien in vitro and vivo s1687097@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leslie Nitsche The role of cell cycle exit in EHT and the haematopoietic niche l.nitsche@ed.ac.uk
Nneka Nnadi Mechanisims of Haematopoietic Stem Cell Development n.c.nnadi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michael O'dwyer The dynamics of heterochromatin accessibility during reprogramming to pluripotency michael.o'dwyer@ed.ac.uk
Rosie Owens Oligodenrocyte biology in neurofibromtosis s1532757@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ege Ozkaya In-vitro exposure of blue light on retinal pigment epithelium and its relevance to age-related macular degeneration s1247891@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tessa Procter How do dysfunctional endothelial cells in cerebral small vessel disease modulate surrounding oligodendroglia through secretion of heat shock protein 90 alpha?
Karin Purshouse karin.purshouse@ed.ac.uk
Sophie Quick Repairing white matter damage and endothelial dysfunction in cerebral small vessel disease sophie.quick@ed.ac.uk
Ana Maria Rondelli The impact of hypoxia on remyelination in a mouse model of Multiple Sclerosis s1141633@ed.ac.uk
Paul Rouse Application of Tissue Engineering to developing an in vitro Thymus s1532522@sms.ed.ac.uk
Diana Sa Da Bandeira The hypotheses that proper organisation of pericytes to the blood vessel wall is required prior HSC generation in the mouse embryo s1686708@sms.ed.ac.uk
Theresa Schoepp Non-coding RNA and the immortal lineage t.schoepp@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emma Shaw Investigating whether Human Embryonic stem cell derived Neuromesodermal progenitors require positional identity to produce spatially restricted progeny? e.s.shaw@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ben Southgate Integrative analysis of common glioblastoma driver mutations and their effect on gene regulatory networks sustaining self-renewal in glioblastoma s1578687@sms.ed.ac.uk
Joanna Sweetman Induced TEC as a tool for repairing adaptive immunity in patients s1222725@sms.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Swire matthew.swire@ed.ac.uk
Vasiliki Symeonidou Defining the unique properties of embryonic haematopoietic stemcalles s0977940@sms.ed.ac.uk
Foteini (Fenia) Tsouki Investigating the role of microglia in synaptic pathology in multiple sclerosis f.tsouki@ed.ac.uk
Sally Vanden-hehir s1014966@sms.ed.ac.uk
Stephen West Does modulation of microglial activation have a beneficial effect on Parkinson’s disease pathology? s1008800@sms.ed.ac.uk
Darren Wisniewski Can you point me in the right dimenson? : Polarity and cell fate s1668999@sms.ed.ac.uk