Marieke A Hoeve (MSc, PhD, PGCert Clin Ed, FHEA)

IRR Head of Postgraduate Programmes and Senior Lecturer



Centre for Regenerative Medicine
The University of Edinburgh
Edinburgh bioQuarter
5 Little France Drive
Edinburgh bioQuarter

Edinburgh bioQuarter
Post code
EH16 4UU


I am the Head of Postgraduate Programmes at the Institute for Regeneration and Repair and Senior Lecturer. An important part of my role is increasing the capacity and sustainability of postgraduate training and research through securing strategic funding and building links with a range of partners.

I am Director of the Martin Lee Doctoral Scholarship Programme in Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine, and of the MSc by Research in Regenerative Medicine and Tissue Repair Programme.

Prior to joining IRR, I worked as academic researcher in the field of macrophage and stem cell biology, and as research project manager for various national and international research consortia and regenerative medicine biotech companies.


MSc (Biomedical Sciences), University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PhD (Molecular Biology), University of Leiden Medical Centre, The Netherlands

PGCert Clinical Education, University of Edinburgh, UK

Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA)


Board of Studies, Deanery of Clinical Sciences

Learning and Teaching Committee, Deanery of Clinical Sciences

Postgraduate Researcher Experience Committee, College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Quality Assurance Committee, Clinical Sciences Teaching Organisation

Skills Committee, Scottish Universities Life Sciences Alliance (SULSA)

Postgraduate teaching

PhD with Integrated Studies: Research 'Martin Lee Doctoral Programme 'Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine'

MSc by Research 'Regenerative Medicine and Tissue Repair'

MSc in Cancer Biology and Precision Oncology (Online Learning)


Current PhD students  - teacher/tutor/mentor

PhD with Integrated Studies: Research (Martin Lee Doctoral Scholarship Programme in Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine)

2021 start:

  • Karen Ching
  • Lucy Doyle
  • Ning Sze Sze Hui
  • Jakob Jeriha

2022 start:

  • Ewan Egan
  • Aisling Fairweather
  • Hei Ip Hong
  • Lydia Lorenzo Cisneros
  • Jacky Tam


Current MSc students  - teacher/tutor/mentor

MScR Regenerative Medicine and Tissue Repair programme:

  • Ines Battle
  • Horace Chan
  • Maria Dalle Vedove
  • Sreya Dutta
  • Tamara Frague-Farniere
  • Isabella Jamieson Morris
  • Hena Modha
  • Patrick Qiu
  • Yashna Rambeerich
  • Cara Raynaud
  • Alessia Stanistreet-Welsh
  • Ahmad Suyoko
  • Katie Tse
  • Ying Tung Lee
  • Sahithi Vedam
  • Sonia Yiakoumi

Past MSc students  - teacher/tutor/mentor

MScR Regenerative Medicine and Tissue Repair programme graduates:

Academic Year 2022/2023

  • Konstantina Angoura
  • Maxym Besh
  • Verity Cowell
  • Ricarda Dobrinski
  • Tara Fay
  • Adriana Gamboa Delgado
  • Valentina Giai
  • Antonios Minopetros
  • Yonlada Nawilaijaroen
  • Chee Haw Soon
  • Runshi (Rocco) Zheng

Academic Year 2021/2022

  • Anna Beletski
  • Angus Comerford
  • Jose Covas Lima Cabral De Campos
  • Rebekka Dimou
  • Nicole Hall
  • Amanda Johnson
  • Jagriti Ramanathan
  • Aparna Sinha
  • Srinethra Sridhar
  • Ka Chung Tam

Academic Year 2019/2020

  • Ameetha Geetha
  • Jiazheng Lai
  • Miguel Robles Garcia
  • Caroline Aguilera Stewart
  • Ho Ching (Ingrid) Tsang