The Principal's Office

Thematic Vice-Principals

In addition to the Senior Leadership Team, the Principal is supported by a number of Vice-Principals working to specific portfolios.

 Vice-Principals are designated by the University Court on the recommendation of the Principal.

Mr Chris Cox

Chris Cox is Vice-Principal Philanthropy and Advancement and Executive Director of Development and Alumni.

Professor Andrew Morris

Andrew Morris is Professor of Medicine and Vice-Principal Data Science. He is seconded from the University as Inaugural Director of Health Data Research UK. He was elected as President of the Academy of Medical Sciences in April 2024.

Professor James Smith

James Smith is Professor of African and Development Studies and Vice-Principal International.

Ms Sarah Smith

Sarah Smith is Vice-Principal Leadership Development.

Mr Alan Mackay

Alan Mackay is Deputy Vice-Principal International and Director of Edinburgh Global.