The Principal's Office

Principal and Vice-Chancellor

The Principal is responsible for the overall operation of the University.

The Principal is President of the Senatus Academicus and ex-officio, a member of the University Court. He is nominated by the Curators of Patronage and appointed by the University Court.

As Vice-Chancellor he confers degrees on behalf of the Chancellor HRH The Princess Royal.

Professor Peter Mathieson

Professor Peter Mathieson

Professor Peter Mathieson MBBS(Hons)(London), PhD(Cambridge), FRCP(London), FRCPE, FMedSci, FRSE assumed the office of Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Edinburgh in February 2018.

Peter Mathieson was born and educated in the United Kingdom. He went to a state grammar school in Penzance, Cornwall and was the first member of his family to go to university. He read Medicine at the London Hospital Medical College and qualified with First Class Honours from the University of London in 1983. After junior medical posts in London, he obtained a research training fellowship from the Medical Research Council (MRC) to study at the University of Cambridge. He was awarded a PhD by the University of Cambridge in 1992. He became Director of Studies for Clinical Medicine at Christ’s College, Cambridge following his PhD. After a further MRC fellowship he moved to Bristol in 1995 as the foundation Professor of Renal Medicine at the University of Bristol and Honorary Consultant Nephrologist, North Bristol NHS Trust. In 1999, he was elected to Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences. In 2021 he was elected as Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

In 2007, Peter became Head of the University Department of Clinical Science at North Bristol, was appointed as Director of Research & Development for the North Bristol NHS Trust, and was elected President of the Renal Association (the UK’s national speciality association for nephrologists and renal scientists) in a competitive ballot of the membership, being the youngest President in its history. He served the full three year term as President and remained a Trustee for a further two years as Immediate Past-President.

In 2008 Peter was appointed Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry at the University of Bristol, serving most of a sixth year after his initial five year term. He played a major role in the formation of Bristol Health Partners from 2008 onwards and was appointed as its founding Director in May 2012, a role he undertook alongside that of Dean. He remains an Honorary Professor of Medicine at the University of Bristol.

In April 2014, Peter assumed office as the 15th President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Hong Kong (HKU), a post he held until January 2018. He remains an Honorary Professor of Medicine in the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine at HKU.

In 2011 he was awarded honorary life membership of the Australian & New Zealand Society of Nephrology. In March 2015 he was awarded Honorary Fellowship of Hughes Hall, Cambridge and in October 2016 Honorary Fellowship of Hong Kong College of Physicians.

Of the various prizes and academic awards that he has received, he is most proud of being voted "Teacher of the Year" by Cambridge medical students in 1992; the Milne-Muehrcke award from the Renal Association and the National Kidney Foundation of USA for “most promising young researcher” from UK in 1997; the UK Renal Association Lockwood Award (for contribution to academic renal medicine) in 2004; and being voted “top teacher 2011-12” by Foundation doctors at University Hospitals Bristol.

External Boards and Committees

Peter is a member of:

  • Advisory Panel of Cyberport, Hong Kong
  • Executive Committee, Universitas21
  • League of European Research Universities Board, Coimbra Group, UNICA and UNA Europa
  • Russell Group Board
  • Universities UK
  • Board of the Scottish Funding Council
  • Universities Scotland Main Committee
  • Universities Scotland, Lead Member for Health
  • Vice-Convener Universities Scotland's Funding Policy Group
  • Scottish Green & Sustainable Financial Services Taskforce
  • University Council for the All-Party Parliamentary University Group
  • Life Sciences Scotland Industry Leadership Group
  • City Region Deal Joint Committee, chair of the Further Education/Higher Education strategy group
  • International Advisory Board, King Abdulaziz University, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • International Advisory Board, Centre for Asian Studies, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
  • Convenor, European Regional Committee, Association of Commonwealth Universities
  • Talloires Network Steering Committee
  • First Minister’s National Advisory Council on Women and Girls
  • Financial Services Advisory Board
  • Hub for Success Advisory Board
  • Newbattle Abbey College Trust
  • Edinburgh Business Resilience Group, formed in response to the Covid 19 pandemic; also chair of its Innovation “task and finish” group
  • February 2021: appointed by the Russell Group Board as lead member for security issues in higher education, a role he also took up for Universities UK from July 2021.

Contact details

Professor Peter Mathieson (MBBS(Hons)(Lond), PhD(Cantab), FRCP(Lond), FRCPE, FMedSci, FRSE)

Principal and Vice-Chancellor

  • Principal's Office

Contact details

The Principal's Office postal address

  • The University of Edinburgh



Old College
South Bridge

Post Code

Related links

The role of Principal and Vice-Chancellor