Who to contact

Helping you direct queries to the right place

Studying with us

Prospective students

If you're thinking about studying with us, or have applied to study with us, please direct queries to the Undergraduate Admissions Office or the School Postgraduate Office.

Undergraduate Admissions Office

Postgraduate Office

Current undergraduate students 

Undergraduate Teaching Office can help with matters relating to the administration of your courses.

Student Support Office are also available to help with a range of other undergraduate queries.

Current postgraduate students 

Postgraduate Office should be your first port of call for most postgraduate queries.


Consult our research page for information about our research.


Key contacts in Philosophy

Below is a list of faculty with administrative responsibilities, who you should also feel free to contact.

Head of Philosophy Michael Gill
Deputy Head of Philosophy Debbie Roberts
Philosophy Management Team Executive Assistant

Jennie Firth


Undergraduate Director Damian Caluori
Deputy Undergraduate Director (Including Tutor Recruitment, Contracts and Allocation) Aidan McGlynn
Tutor Training Coordinator Filipa Melo Lopes
Honours Coordinator Fedor Benevich
Joint honours Coordinator Fedor Benevich
Academic contact for Philosophy and Economics Guy Fletcher
Academic contact for Philosophy and Greek Inna Kupreeva/Damian Caluori
Academic contact for Philosophy and Politics Barry Maguire
Academic contact for Philosophy and English Literature Aidan McGlynn
Academic contact for Philosophy and Mathematics Brian Rabern
Academic contact for Philosophy and Psychology Pauline Phemister
Academic contact for Philosophy and Linguistics Brian Rabern
Academic contact for Philosophy and English Language Damian Caluori
Academic contact for Philosophy and Modern Languages Damian Caluori
Academic contact for Philosophy and Theology Suilin Lavelle
Academic contact for Politics, Philosophy and Economics Damian Caluori
Course Organiser, Morality and Value Guy Fletcher
Course Organiser, Philosophy of Science 1 Suilin Lavelle
Course Organiser, IHOP A Fedor Benevich
Course Organiser, IHOP B Jennifer Marušić
Course Organiser, Knowledge and Reality Aidan McGlynn
Course Organiser, Logic 1 Brian Rabern
Course Organiser, Mind, Matter and Language Till Vierkant
Exam Boards Convenor Nick Treanor
Philosophy QAE David Levy
Equality & Diversity Director Filipa Melo Lopes
EDI and Anti-Harassment Officers Filipa Melo Lopes; Aidan McGlynn; Takeshi Morisato
Open Day Coordinator David Levy
Philosophy Society Liaison Takeshi Morisato
Student Exchange Coordinator Pauline Phemister
SSLC Convenor Damian Caluori
Philosophy Library Rep Inna Kupreeva


Postgraduate Research Director Till Vierkant
Postgraduate Teaching Director Jennifer Marušić
Programme Director, MSc Epistemology, Ethics and Mind (EEM) Alasdair Richmond
Programme Director, MSc Philosophy Berislav (Beri) Marušić
Programme Director, MSc Philosophy, Science & Religion (PSR) Suilin Lavelle
Programme Director, MSc Mind, Language and Embedded Cognition (MLEC) Mark Sprevak


Research Director Barry Maguire
Edinburgh Speaker Seminars Coordinator Mahrad Almotahari
Impact Case Co-ordinator Till Vierkant

Cohort Leads Year 1

Shiel Debbie Roberts
Lomond Guy Fletcher

Cohort Leads Year 2

Beanie Jennifer Marušić
Davan Takeshi Morisato

Cohort Leads Year 3

Lanark Aidan McGlynn
Gelly Fedor Benevich
Ettrick Suilin Lavelle

Cohort Leads Year 4

Plaid Eli Lichtenstein
Libo Filipa Melo Lopes
Milton Jack Shardlow