Philosophy staff shortlisted for Teaching Awards

Katie Monk and Mark Sprevak have both been shortlisted for the 2019 Teaching Awards

Congratulations to philosophy lecturers Dr Katie Monk and Dr Mark Sprevak who have been shortlisted for EUSA's 2019 Teaching Awards, a celebration of staff making a big, positive impact on students' learning experiences across the University of Edinburgh. 

Katie Monk

Mark Sprevak

25 staff members at the University made it to the shortlist based on over 2,000 Teaching Award nominations that EUSA received in 2019.

Teaching Awards Results | EUSA

Best Course Award

Mark Sprevak is shortlisted in this category, which recognises inspiring and exciting courses, for his Year 4 undergraduate course Ethics of Artificial Intelligence

The course explores a new and exciting area of philosophy, engaging with topics of contemporary interest and societal significance, building our cross-disciplinary expertise. It is delivered in a new and refreshing way that gives us the chance to think and work in class with one another to make sure we fully understand the concepts and arguments.

We are in the formative years of AI, and the students who are educated in these types of classes will go on to dictate the policies and thinking that ultimately impact the entire global community. Without classes like this, the future of AI (and by extension humanity) will be precarious at best.

Best Practice in Inclusive Learning and Teaching Award

Katie Monk, who organises the Year 4 undergraduate course Philosophy of Race and Gender, is shortlisted in this category which recognises teachers who celebrate diversity in the curriculum and facilitate an inclusive and welcoming learning environment.

Dr Katie Monk was brilliant! She taught Topics in the philosophy of Gender and Race (a course that is by its nature, a very challenging course to teach) with extreme sensitivity and made sure everyone's voice was heard.

As a Black, LGBT male it was so refreshing to have my peers hear things from my perspective, to read Black authors and LGBT authors.

Awards ceremony

The awards ceremony takes place on 25 April 2019 at Teviot Row House, where the winners will be announced for the 12 award categories:

  • Best Practice in Inclusive Learning and Teaching
  • Best Implementer of Student Feedback
  • Best Assessment Feedback
  • Best Support Staff
  • Best Personal Tutor
  • Best Student Who Tutors
  • Best Supervisor
  • Best Course
  • The Kendall Award for Teaching in Medicine
  • Best Teaching in Veterinary Medicine
  • The Van Heyningen Award for Teaching in Science and Engineering
  • The Ian Campbell Award for Teaching in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences