School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences

About us

An overview of the school and key members of the management team

The School comprises Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences (Linguistics and English Language). The school aims to maintain its internationally-renowned reputation for research and to use this as a solid foundation for teaching. 

In all subject areas the School is recognized as world-leading, as shown in its high rankings across all areas in the 2014 Research Excellence Framework. Linguistics has more world-leading research than any other Linguistics department submitted to the "Modern Languages and Linguistics" panel (REF 2014: Best for Linguistics in the UK). Philosophy was rated the best philosophy department in Scotland, and the 2nd best in the UK, based on volume of world-leading and internationally excellent research. Psychology were part of a joint submission which came 1st in Scotland and 3rd in the UK, based on volume of world-leading and internationally excellent research. In 2015/16 the school brought in around £8million in research funding.

There are over 100 academic staff within the School, and the breadth of expertise ranges from analytic philosophy and the study of English language, through theoretical and applied linguistics and experimental psychology, to cognitive neurosciences and genetic influences on human behaviour.

The School is unique in offering outstanding opportunities for inter-disciplinary teaching and in pioneering novel forms of research that reach across traditional boundaries.

Each year, the School welcomes a diverse mix of over 1,400 undergraduate and postgraduate students from around the world. The School has well-established links with other areas of the University such as Clinical Neuroscience, Medicine, Informatics and Edinburgh College of Art.

All subject areas have active links with research organizations outwith the University, and a broad network of collaboration with a range of universities around the globe. The School offers extensive support for academics, including dedicated undergraduate and postgraduate teaching offices,  research and knowledge exchange support team and IT resources team.

The School facilities include a range of specialist laboratories and a well-stocked and resourced School library which is supported by a full-time librarian. This is in addition to the nearby University central library. The School is located across two buildings set in the heart of the University’s George Square campus.

The School is part of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences 

School Management Committee

Head of School Professor Ronnie Cann
Deputy Head of School Professor Holly Branigan
Director of Professional Services Mr Michael Murray
Head of Philosophy Prof Matthew Chrisman
Head of Psychology Dr Martin Corley
Head of Linguistics and English Language Professor Nikolas Gisborne
Undergraduate Director Dr Peter Lamont
Postgraduate Director Dr Mits Ota
Director of Research Professor Martin Pickering
Senior Tutor Dr Pavel Iosad
Knowledge Exchange Director Dr Mark Sprevak


Job opportunities within our School

Social media

Connect with us on social media

Social media directory - Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences