Annual Review 2015/16

Students' Association Teaching Awards

Every year the Edinburgh University Students’ Association honours staff at the University with its Teaching Awards.

The awards recognise the teachers, support staff and peer support leaders who make an enormously positive impact on students’ learning experiences.

In a student-organised ceremony on Wednesday 20 April in Teviot Row House the winners were announced. Here we celebrate these staff achievements and share comments made by nominating students.


Mal Burkinshaw

Best Feedback Award

Mal Burkinshaw, School of Design, Edinburgh College of Art

Mal’s written and verbal feedback is always informative and helpful and shows that he is really interested in our work. He helps us to feel confident in our work and guides us to better solutions and research ideas.


Paul Archibald

Best Student Who Tutors Award​

Paul Archibald, Reid School of Music, Edinburgh College of Art

Paul is always keen to help and provides detailed, high-quality answers, taking no shortcuts and always working hard to ensure we understand the material. He creates a positive atmosphere in all his tutorials. I truly feel Paul has been a source of inspiration.


Jamie Cole

Best Personal Tutor Award

Dr Jamie Cole, School of Physics & Astronomy

He is genuinely interested in his students and is much more than a personal tutor, he’s like a friend. More recently, Jamie helped me through a difficult time and without his help and support I don’t think I would still be at this University.


Sian Bayne

Best Research or Dissertation Supervisor Award

Professor Siân Bayne, Moray House School of Education

As a supervisor she has consistently provided the right mix of challenging encouragement. Meetings feel like discussions with a (much) more knowledgeable colleague, rather than the more traditional student/teacher relationship.


Lee Gaedtke

Best Support Staff Award

Lee Gaedtke, School of Health in Social Science

Lee will always have a smile on her face, or will always lift your mood with her happy emails. She is a very caring person and she will go out of her way to solve any problems or concerns you may have.


Dr Meryl Kenny and Professor Fiona Mackay

Best Course Award 

Dr Meryl Kenny and Professor Fiona Mackay, School of Social & Political Science (for: Social & Political Science in Practice)

The course has involved a lot of group work, and my group have become some of my best friends. I think courses like this, that encourage students to have a bigger role in the University life, are an amazing idea.


Jamie Davies

The Kendell Award for Teaching in Medicine

Professor Jamie Davies, Edinburgh Medical School: Biomedical Sciences

Jamie offered to mark mock essays and also provided us with podcasts, which lasted the length of time walking from Pollock Halls to the Old Medical School. He provided all this material in many different formats allowing ease of use for everyone.


Julie Dickson

The Award for Teaching in Veterinary Sciences​

Julie Dickson, The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Medicine

Julie took the time to make 3D models of a dog to help the students visualise the bones, joints and muscles. She put every minute of her day into our course, not only making it interesting but making sure we all had enough resources to succeed.


Ahmad Mejbas Al-Remal

The Van Heyningen Award for Teaching in Science and Engineering

Dr Ahmad Mejbas Al-Remal, School of Engineering

Not only does he put in a lot of effort to prepare engaging lectures that students can follow easily… he is always willing to put in hours outside of allocated course time to explain concepts students have difficulty with.


Marwa Mouazen

The Ian Campbell Award for Teaching in the Humanities and Social Science

Marwa Mouazen, School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures

She uses lots of different materials to help us learn – reading texts, audio files, PowerPoint, even songs! She has encouraged us to seek extra-curricular opportunities and takes an interest in how our learning is progressing outside the classroom.


Isla Myers-Smith and Aidan Keane

The Best Innovative Assessment Award

Dr Isla Myers-Smith and Dr Aidan Keane (for: Conservation Science)

For the majority of the assessments we had the chance to choose our own topic – having this freedom was an outstanding opportunity as we could work on an issue we feel passionate about.