Touch Rugby World Cup

Hundreds of players from 21 countries are descending on Edinburgh to battle for the global title in touch rugby.

The University is hosting and staging the seventh Touch World Cup. This is the first time the event will be held in Europe.

The University has great experience in supporting major sporting events, and we look forward to becoming the first venue in Europe to host this prestigious event

Jim AitkenDirector of the University's Centre for Sport and Exercise

Touch down at Peffermill

The University's Peffermill Sports Centre will stage 448 games between 22-26 June on its 12 state of the art pitches. All games are free for spectators.

Pollock Halls will be transformed into the official athlete's village to house the 1500 players and officials taking part. The University will also provide physio care and sports medicine facilities.

Advance Australia

What began life in 1960s Australia as a training exercise for rugby league players, Touch Rugby is now a fully codified international sport.

A variation of rugby union but with no tackling, lineouts, scrumming or kicking involved, Touch Rugby is played over half a traditional rugby pitch. Only six players per team are allowed on the pitch at any one time. Games last 40 minutes.

A game for all

The titles being competed for include Men's Open, Women's Open, Mixed Open, Mens, Womens and Mixed 30's, and Mens 35's & 40's. Open teams means any age can play, but usually comprises of players under 30.

Since the first Touch World Cup in Australia's Gold Coast in 1988, Australia has dominated. At the last world cup, held in South Africa, it won all but two categories. New Zealand triumphed in Mixed Open and Mixed 30s.

We are thrilled and excited by the opportunity to help stage the 2011 Touch World Cup. We will be sure to give the 1500 players from across the 21 competing nations the very warmest welcome to Edinburgh and the University.

Jim AitkenDirector of the University's Centre for Sport and Exercise

Competitors in 2011 Touch World Cup

  • Scotland
  • USA
  • New Zealand
  • Germany
  • Papua New Guinea
  • South Africa
  • Japan
  • Austria
  • Cook Islands
  • Guernsey
  • Switzerland
  • Wales
  • Singapore
  • England
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Netherlands
  • Ireland
  • Luxembourg
  • Italy
  • Catalonia
Special article found - identified by: 1.61934