New Year's Honours for staff

University staff have once again been recognised in the Queen's New Year's Honours List.

The following awards to current or former members of staff have been announced and will be conferred later this year:

  • Professor Sir Neil Douglas, School of Clinical Sciences and Community Health - Knighthood for services to Medicine
  • Professor Ian Halliday, School of Physics - CBE for services to Science
  • Professor Carole Hillenbrand, formerly Head of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies - OBE for services to Higher Education
  • Professor Isobel Sharp, Visiting Professor, Business School - CBE for services to the Accountancy Profession.

Senior Honorary Professor Geoffrey Boulton, formerly a Vice Principal and Regius Professor of Geology, was also honoured in the French New Year's Honours List as "Commandeur dans l'Ordre des Palmes Academiques" for services to Science and French Culture.