Literary giant commemorated in walk of fame
Two English Literature scholars from the University have backed a scheme that celebrates the life of one of Scotland's greatest writers.
A commemorative stone, which marks the life of the sixteenth-century poet and playwright Sir David Lyndsay was unveiled this week at Makars’ Court off the Royal Mile in Edinburgh.
The paving stone is one of 30 which makes up a Holywood-style walk of fame that celebrates the lives and works of Scottish writers such as John Barbour, Robert Henryson, William Dunbar, Robert Fergusson, Neil Gunn, Hugh McDiarmid, Tom Scott, Violet Jacob, John Buchan, J. K. Annand and Dorothy Dunnett.
Professor Greg Walker and Dr Sarah Carpenter from English Literature were involved in the Sir David Lyndsay Society's fundraising efforts for the Sir David Lyndsay stone, which attracted interest from across the globe.
Scotland has produced an extraordinary number of accomplished writers and the Makars' Court is an excellent way of paying tribute to them and celebrating their work.
The stone carries Sir David Lyndsay’s name with birth and death dates, together with a quotation from his work chosen to reflect his ideas and attitudes.
A fitting memorial
The inscription reads: Lat us haif the bukis necessare To commoun weill (Translation: Let us have the books necessary To our common good)[from "Ane Dialog betuix Experience and Ane Courteour", lines 678-79, first printed 1554]
The stone also carries Sir David’s heraldic arms as a fitting memorial to the writer who was also Scotland’s Lyon King of Arms.