University signs joint PhD deal

Edinburgh is set to launch a jointly-awarded PhD programme with 13 of the world’s leading universities.

Universitas 21 logo

Principal Professor Sir Timothy O’Shea signed a memorandum of understanding with the 13 members of Universitas 21, pledging to set up the programme in Seoul.

Partner institutions

The other universities which will take part in the programme are:

  • University of Auckland
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Delhi
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Hong Kong
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Virginia
  • University College Dublin
  • Korea University
  • McGill University

Increasing research collaboration

The memorandum calls for the universities to increase research collaboration through jointly-awarded PhD programmes.

The scheme will help Edinburgh attract high quality postgraduate researchers from anywhere in the world, to train as researchers here and at one of the partner institutions.

Related Links

Universitas 21