Royal honours for staff

A number of University staff and associates have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours List.

Edinburgh representatives honoured this year are from a broad range of disciplines, from each of the three Colleges.

Research pioneer

Alan Bundy, Professor of Automated Reasoning, was awarded a CBE for services to computer reasoning.

Professor Bundy, who leads Edinburgh's Mathematical Reasoning Group has been with the University since 1971.

From 2000-2005 he was founder and convenor of the UK Computing Research Committee, which plays an advocacy role for computing research in the UK.

He is a Vice-President and Trustee of the British Computer Society with special responsibility for the Academy of Computing.

Leading authority

Stuart Haszeldine, Scottish Power Professor of Carbon Capture and Storage, received an OBE for services to climate change technologies.

Professor Haszeldine is a recognised authority on carbon capture and storage.

He leads the UK’s largest university research group for carbon dioxide storage and captre involving Edinburgh, Heriot-Watt University and the British Geological Survey.

He is also co-leader of the academic UK Carbon Capture and Storage Consortium.

He is currently a member of the independent Advisory Committee on Carbon Abatement Technologies, which is advising the UK Government.

Science ambassador

Mr Brian Cameron, Technical Support Officer with the School of GeoSciences, was also honoured.

He received an MBE for services to science engagement in Scotland.

Mr Cameron has long been an active participant in the University's widening participation programme.

Recently he has been involved in the development of carbon capture and storage modules for delivery in Scottish schools.

Medical innovator

Mr Gordon MacKinlay, Child Life and Health Senior Lecturer, was awarded an OBE for services to paediatric surgery.

Mr Mackinlay is also General Paediatric Surgeon at the Royal Hospital for Sick Children in Edinburgh.

In 1994 Mr MacKinlay introduced therapeutic laparoscopic surgery to the Royal Hospital for Sick Children in Edinburgh.

Since then he has built up a unit which probably performs more minimally invasive surgery than any other paediatric surgical unit in the UK.

Additional honours

Professor Ursula Martin, a Visiting Professor with the School of Informatics, received the CBE for services to computer science.

Dr Frances Dow, Honorary Fellow in History, was awarded a CBE for services to UK/US relations and the Marshall Scholarships.

Dr James Roy Robertson MBE, part-time Reader in General Practice with the Centre for Population Health Scienes, earned the LVO.