Election to the University Court

Every 4 years a non-teaching member of staff is elected to the University Court, the governing body of the University.

Nominations are now invited for this position, with the successful candidate taking over the position on 1 September 2009.

An election will be held between 8 and 18 June 2009, and will be under the guidance of the Electoral Reform Society. Nominations must be lodged not later than 12 noon on Friday 22 May 2009. Brief details of the nomination and election procedure are given below.

The University Court

The Court is the University’s governing body and is the legal persona of the University. By the Universities (Scotland) Act, 1889, the University Court is a body corporate, with perpetual succession and a common seal; and all the property belonging to the University at the passing of the Act was vested in the Court. The present powers exercisable in accordance with procedures prescribed by the Court are defined in the Universities (Scotland) Acts, and include:

  • the administration and management of the whole revenue and property of the University
  • to regulate the salaries of all members of staff
  • to appoint Committees of its own members or others to determine the membership and the quorum of such committees

The 1966 Act stipulates the procedures by which Court may exercise its powers. These are: by Ordinance, which requires consultation with the General Council and the Senatus Academicus and then Privy Council approval; by Resolution, which similarly requires consultation with the General Council and Senatus Academicus but not approval by Privy Council; or by simple decision without the need for formal consultation. Emergency procedures are stipulated in the Act intended to accelerate the Ordinance and Resolution procedures in cases of urgency.

Nomination & election procedure

Full details of the Election process including Nomination forms and copies of the Regulations may be obtained from the Deputy Returning Officer Helen Hamer.

An election shall be held between 8 and 18 June 2009 (votes must be received no later than 12 noon), for the purpose of electing from amongst their own number an Assessor of the Non-Teaching Staff to the University Court.

The electorate shall consist of all those employees of the University who are support staff (i.e. who are not academic or research staff), in Grades 1 to 10, who are on the main University payroll. This definition has been approved by Court as ‘all those who are not represented on Senate’.

Those nominated must be members of the Non-Teaching Staff as defined above.

Key dates From To
Call for Nominations 27 April 2009 22 May 2009 (12 noon)
Scrutinising Panel Meeting 29 May 2009  
Announcement of Candidates standing for Election 1 June 2009  
Election 8 June 2009 18 June 2009 (12 noon)

Contact details

For informal discussions with the current Non-Teaching Staff Assessor, please contact Jenie Glover.

Special article found - identified by: 1.8902

For any information regarding the the Election process please contact the Deputy Returning Officer, Helen Hamer.

Special article found - identified by: 1.8909