New Year's Honours for staff

Four staff members have been recognised in the Queen's New Year's Honours list 2019, representing all three Colleges. 

Medical excellence 

Jonathan Seckl, Professor of Molecular Medicine, has been awarded an OBE for services to endocrinology.

Professor Seckl is Vice-Principal for Planning, Resources and Research Policy.

Brain ageing

Ian Deary, Professor of Differential Psychology, has been awarded an OBE for services to the social sciences.

Professor Deary is Director of the Centre for Cognitive Ageing and Cognitive Epidemiology at the Department of Psychology. 

Technical services

Fiona Alderson, Technical Services Manager, has been awarded a BEM for services to engineering and education.

Mrs Alderson is based at the School of Engineering. 

Animal welfare

Anna Meredith, Professor of Zoological and Conservation Medicine, has been awarded an OBE for services to animal welfare.

Professor Meredith is currently head of Melbourne Veterinary School and Personal Chair at the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies at the University of Edinburgh.

Related links

Professor Jonathan Seckl

Professor Ian Deary

Professor Anna Meredith

Fiona Alderson