Chancellor commemorates Edinburgh Seven

​​​​​​​Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal has visited the University to commemorate a group of pioneering women, known as the Edinburgh Seven.

The seven women were among the first to be admitted to a UK university when they enrolled to study medicine 150 years ago.

Trailblazing women

Mary Anderson, Emily Bovell, Matilda Chaplin, Helen Evans, Sophia Jex-Blake, Edith Pechey and Isabel Thorne began studying medicine at Edinburgh in 1869.

They were ultimately prevented from graduating, but the campaign they fought ultimately led to a change in the law to allow women to study medicine in the UK.

Posthumous degrees  

The seven students were awarded posthumous honorary degrees in July this year.

The degrees were collected on their behalf by a group of current students at Edinburgh Medical School.

Royal visit

The Princess Royal – who is also Chancellor of the University of Edinburgh – met the students at an event in St Cecilia’s Hall on Wednesday 11 September.

She also heard about a variety of initiatives that encourage people from all backgrounds to consider studying medicine at Edinburgh.

Related links

The Edinburgh Seven

Study Medicine at Edinburgh