Teaching excellence rewarded

Teaching excellence at Edinburgh has been acknowledged with a set of awards devised and operated by the University’s students’ association.

Photo of staff and students at the 2014 EUSA Teaching Awards

The EUSA Teaching Awards recognise innovative and inspiring teaching and highlight the many individual success stories across the University.

Established in 2009 by the Edinburgh University Students’ Association (EUSA), the awards are part of an ongoing commitment to highlight the importance of excellence in teaching alongside the University’s research activity.

The EUSA Teaching Awards are a wonderful initiative on the part of our students and are now firmly established as one of the most important events in our academic year. I know that colleagues take great motivation from having their efforts recognised in this way.

Professor Sir Timothy O’SheaPrincipal and Vice-Chancellor, the University of Edinburgh

Positive impact

The EUSA Teaching Awards recognise the teachers, support staff and students who have made a positive impact on students’ learning experiences.

This year, more than 2,500 nominations were received, and a student judging panel determined the shortlist and winners.

Awards in 13 categories, including Best Personal Tutor, Best Feedback and Best School or Subject Area, were presented at a ceremony held at the University’s Teviot Row House.

More than 100 students and staff members attended the event.

It was incredible to see a record number of students write thoughtful nominations about learning and teaching at Edinburgh. The EUSA Teaching Awards serve to recognise the passion that many staff exhibit in their teaching, and we hope that the event continues to grow.

Alex MunyardEUSA Vice-President Academic Affairs

Full winners list

The winners and runners-up are:

Best Feedback
 Dr Dan Swanton (School of GeoSciences)

Runner-up: Professor Pete Higgins (Moray House School of Education)
Best Personal Tutor
Winner: Dr Ulf-Dietrich Schoop (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)
Runner-up: Dr David Kaufman (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)
Best Postgraduate Tutor
Winner: Eliana Lambrou (School of Physics & Astronomy)
Runner-up: Ariadne-Anna Panagopoulou (School of Law)
Best Research or Dissertation Supervisor
Winner: Dr Samantha Griffiths (Division of Pathway Medicine)
Runner-up: Professor Theodore Scaltsas (School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences)
Teaching with Technology Award
Winner: Dr David Kaufman (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)
Runner-up: Brian Wall (School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures)
Peer Support Award
Winners: Alice Cezanne & Emma Butcher (Biomedical Society)
Runner-up: Alison Garden (School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures)
Kendell Award for Teaching in Medicine
Winner: Professor Simon Maxwell (School of Clinical Sciences)
Runner-up: Dr Paul Kelly (School of Biomedical Sciences)
Teaching in Veterinary Sciences Award
Winner: Dr Susan Kempson (Royal [Dick] School of Veterinary Sciences)
Runner-up: Professor Anna Meredith (Royal [Dick] School of Veterinary Sciences)
Van Heyningen Award for Teaching in Science & Engineering
Winner: Professor Iain Gordon (School of Mathematics)
Runner-up: Professor Charles Cockell (School of Physics & Astronomy)
Ian Campbell Award for Teaching in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Winner: Dr Rob Dinnis (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)
Runner-up: Dr Claire Haggett (School of Social & Political Science)
Best Course
Winner: Stem Cells, Neurodegenerative Diseases & Models
Runner-up: Parliamentary Studies
Best School or Subject Area
Winner: School of Chemistry
Runner-up: School of History, Classics & Archaeology
Supporting Students' Learning Award
Winner: Tracy Noden (School of Biomedical Sciences)
Runner-up: Sheila Macpherson (Queen’s Medical Research Institute)

Photos courtesy of Mihaela Bodlovic and Tom Dance.

Related Links

EUSA Teaching Awards