Press celebrates Saltire success

A book published by Edinburgh University Press has won the 2014 Saltire Book of the Year Award.

The Scottish Town in the Age of the Enlightenment 1740 - 1820, co-authored by Bob Harris and Charles McKean, looks at urbanisation in Scotland throughout the 18th century. The book was also awarded The Saltire Research Book of the Year.

The Saltire History Book of the Year was awarded to social historian Steve Bruce for Scottish Gods, Religion in the Modern Scotland 1900-2012 - also published by Edinburgh University Press.

Esteemed awards

The results were announced at a ceremony in Edinburgh’s Dynamic Earth. The awards celebrate literary achievement over five categories, with each winner receiving £2,000.

The overall Saltire Book of the Year Award is then selected from the winners of the five individual book categories. This prize is supported by Creative Scotland and accompanied by a £10,000 prize.

The annual awards are organised by the Saltire Society, a non-political independent charity founded in 1936 which has membership branches throughout Scotland.

Celebrating literary excellence

Regarded as one of Scotland's most prestigious book awards, the Saltire Society Literary Awards aim to celebrate and support literary and academic excellence of authors living in Scotland, of Scottish descent, or those who examine an aspect of the country in their text.

Edinburgh University Press

Edinburgh University Press is a scholarly publisher of academic books and journals.

It was founded in the 1940s and became a wholly owned subsidiary of the University of Edinburgh in 1992.