The University is working with Historic Scotland to produce a publication that showcases the finest buildings on campus.
The book will highlight the wide range of architectural styles and innovations to be found across the University’s five main campuses.
It will focus on iconic elements of the University’s built heritage, such as Old College, Teviot Place and Sir Basil Spence’s Main Library.
Hidden gems such as St Cecilia’s Hall, Old Moray House and the Ashworth Labs at King’s Buildings will also be spotlighted.
There will be space too for more recent developments, including the Roslin Institute, Informatics Forum and the Scottish Centre for Regenerative Medicine.
The new volume not only provides historical detail, but also highlights some of the stories behind the buildings’ development and the people who use them.
The book coincides with major investment showing the University’s ambition for its built environment. Landmark buildings have been recently refurbished such as High School Yards in Drummond Street and the Willliam Robertson Building in George Square.
Ever since it was founded at the Tounis College in 1583, Edinburgh has had an important role to play in the fabric of the city. Its iconic buildings have shaped the skyline and generations of students have walked its halls. Each campus can be considered an ever-changing landscape and it is appropriate to identify the ways in which our built environment contributes to our academic endeavour whilst providing an enviable resource for the city itself.
The text will be written by Historic Buildings Consultant Nick Haynes, who has recently completed a book on the architecture of University of Glasgow.
He will work closely with staff from the University’s Main Library, Architectural History, Estates and Buildings and Development and Alumni.
I am delighted to be working on this ambitious two-year collaborative project between the University of Edinburgh and Historic Scotland. Although parts of the University' estate have been studied before, this is the first time that a book will cover the architectural history of the University from its foundation in 1583 right up to the present day.