College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine

2021 awards

Congratulations to everyone who was nominated in the first ever CMVM Staff Recognition Awards.

We received more than 350 nominations, recognising around 700 people either individually or as part of a team. A selection panel from across the College selected the top entries for each category and winners were announced at an online ceremony on 19 April 2021.  You can watch a recording of the event below and view the full shortlist.



Shortlist and winners:


Community engagement

  • Andrew Gardiner / All4Paws RUNNER UP
  • Andrew Horne
  • Cathy Southworth WINNER
  • Laura Sheils RUNNER UP
  • Sue Fletcher-Watson

Equality, inclusion and diversity

  • Emily Sena WINNER
  • Jenny Durkin RUNNER UP
  • Centre for Cardiovascular Science Research Integrity team
  • Mohini Gray RUNNER UP
  • Glen Cousquer

Excellent newcomer

  • Charlotte Iliakis RUNNER UP
  • Connor Warnock
  • Emilie McSwiggan WINNER
  • Jess Wood
  • Louise Beveridge


  • Alan Gilchrist RUNNER UP
  • Digital Education Unit Team - Medical School
  • Glen Cousquer
  • Kevin Dhaliwal
  • Test Ed Team WINNER

Inspiring others

  • Andy Sims
  • Anne Moore
  • Colin Semple RUNNER UP
  • Dylan Clements WINNER
  • Sam Booker


  • Chloe Kippen
  • Ciara Vance
  • John Menzies WINNER
  • Lisa Boden WINNER
  • Robert Stewart

Student experience

  • Andreana Austin
  • Bryony Lancaster
  • David Kluth RUNNER UP
  • Mike Grieve WINNER
  • Steve Turner

Team excellence

  • Maternal and Fetal Health Research Team
  • Edinburgh Imaging Facility QMRI Radiography Team RUNNER UP
  • Edinburgh Imaging Facility Radiographer Team RUNNER UP
  • QMRI Flow Cytometry Team
  • Team Generation Scotland
  • Easter Bush Campus E&I Action Group
  • Digital Education Unit - Medical School WINNER
  • Digital Education Unit - Vet School WINNER

Outstanding colleague

  • Alex Peden RUNNER UP
  • Angela Ingram WINNER
  • Hazel Lambert
  • Heather Anderson
  • Janet Skinner
  • Mark Adams
  • Oonagh Lawrie
  • Olga Paterson RUNNER UP
  • Sarah Wild
  • Shane Canning
  • Sheila Webb