College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine

Athena SWAN Silver Awards now held across the college

Athena SWAN Silver Awards received this week for Dick Vet and Edinburgh Clinical Medical School.

Athena Swan Silver Award

The College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine is delighted to report that the latest applications for Athena SWAN Silver Awards from both the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies and the joint application from the Deaneries of Clinical Sciences and Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences have both been successful.

Granted for a three-year-period, these latest Silver awards follow the awards of the Athena SWAN Bronze accreditation in 2013.

These two awards join the Silver Award already held by the Deanery of Biomedical Sciences - showing consistency across the College in our commitment to advancing women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in academia.

The awards are in recognition of excellent policies to promote gender equality and address particular challenges for women within science - and now progress made over the last three years as a result of these policies.

Professors Karen Chapman and Cathy Abbott led the Edinburgh Clinical Medical School submission; Cat Eastwood and Professor Anna Meredith led on the Dick Vet submission.

We are delighted to have been awarded Athena SWAN silver accreditation. This reflects our clear commitment to gender equality and support for career development and progression for women. We have embraced and embedded the Athena SWAN principles for the benefit of all our staff - men and women alike.

The process of achieving this accreditation is extremely rigorous and has been made possible as a result of a lot of hard work by staff and, in particular, Cat Eastwood and Professor Anna Meredith who led on our submission.

Professor David ArgyleHead of Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

Related links

Athena SWAN at the Edinburgh Clinical Medical School

Athena SWAN at the Dick Vet

Athena SWAN at the Deanery of Biomedical Sciences 

Institutional Athena SWAN Silver Award