College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine

List of research institutes and centres

Our research centres are usually grouped within institutes that bring together internationally outstanding, thematically linked research. In addition, we are proud to host several philanthropically funded centres that focus on specific disease areas.

The Queen's Medical Research Institute
Institutes and Centres Host School/Deanery Director Email
The Queen's Medical Research Institute Clinical Sciences Professor C Haslett

C.Haslett@ed.ac.uk

E.Dolan@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Cardiovascular Science Clinical Sciences Professor A Baker

Andy.Baker@ed.ac.uk 

M.Kavanagh@ed.ac.uk 

Centre for Inflammation Research Clinical Sciences Professor C Gregory

Chris.Gregory@ed.ac.uk 

MRC Centre for Reproductive Health Clinical Sciences Professor Jeffrey Pollard

Jeff.Pollard@ed.ac.uk

K.Witherspoon@ed.ac.uk

Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine
Institutes and Centres Host School/Deanery Director Email
MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences Professor M Frame

Margaret.Frame@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Katie.Browne@igmm.ed.ac.uk

MRC Human Genetics Unit Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences Professor W Bickmore

hgu.director@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Katie.Browne@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Cancer Research UK Edinburgh Centre Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences

Professor M Frame (Science Director)

Professor D Cameron (Clinical Director)

Margaret.Frame@igmm.ed.ac.uk

David.Cameron@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Laura.Wood@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Centre for Genomic and Experimental Medicine Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences Professor T Aitman

Tim.Aitman@ed.ac.uk

 

The Usher Institute 
Institutes and Centres Host School/Deanery Director Email
The Usher Institute  Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences Professor Aziz Sheikh Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk
Centre for Population Health Sciences Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences Professor David Weller

David.Weller@ed.ac.uk

J.Norrie@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Medical Informatics Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences

Professor Cathie Sudlow

Cathie.Sudlow@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Global Health Research Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences

Professor H Campbell

Professor I Rudan

Harry.Campbell@ed.ac.uk

igor.rudan@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Biomedicine, Self and Society Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences Professor Sarah Cunningham-Burley
Edinburgh Neuroscience
Institutes and Centres Host  School/Deanery Director Email
Edinburgh Neuroscience Biomedical Sciences Professor S Chandran

Siddharthan.Chandran@ed.ac.uk

edinburgh.neuroscience@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences Clinical Sciences Professor S Chandran

Siddharthan.Chandran@ed.ac.uk

Rachel.Burrow@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences Biomedical Sciences Professor D Wyllie

Head.CDBS@ed.ac.uk 

The Roslin Institute
Institutes and Centres Host School Director Email
The Roslin Institute R(D)SVS Professor E Riley

director@roslin.ed.ac.uk

info@roslin.ed.ac.uk

Centre for Comparative Pathology   Professor M Arends comparativepathology@ed.ac.uk
The Institute of Regeneration and Repair
Institutes and Centres Host School/Deanery Director Email
MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine Clinical Sciences Professor S Forbes

Stuart.Forbes@ed.ac.uk